Help-Speaker suggestion for Marantz PM6004

hector2013

Hi Everybody,

A warm hello to everybody. Although I am a newbie to this forum already I think I have spent around 1 month going over most of the threads. I am overwhelmed to find so many like minded audiophile with such a wealth of invaluable information.

I am planning to acquire my 1st hifi audio system & I need a little help & guidance from you all in finalizing my system.

My requirements: A good old 2 channel stereo system for listening to music mainly

Taste: Natural & warm sound without boomy bass or too much treble leading to listening fatigue

Music of my choice: Rock songs (Pink Floyd, Enigma, Scorpions, Dire Straits etc), old & new hindi movie songs, western classical etc.

Budget: Around 70 K

Room Size: 15 ft x 10 ft

After having set the requirements, I have ventured to do lots of demos.

I have demoed the following combinations: (Amplifier + Speakers)

1. Cambridge Audio Topaz AM5+ Wharfedale 10.1 - Low on clarity & bass/treble quite subdued

2. Cambridge Audio Topaz AM5 + Paradigm Atom - cluttered sound with boomy bass. mid range not clear

3. Denon PMA 720AE + Wharfedale 10.1 - boomy bass, lacking in clarity/ abnormal mid range

4. Denon PMA 720AE + Mordaunt Short Mezzo 1 - Very clear mid range, highly musical, very much natural sounding

6. Marantz PM6004 + Jamo 626 - Boomy bass, very shrill treble, too warm sound

8. Marantz PM6004 + Wharfedale 10.5 Diamond - Low on clarity & bass/treble quite subdued, mid range rough, avg sounding

7. Marantz PM6004 + Mordaunt Short Aviano 1 - Extreme clarity in sound, very musical, clear mid range, bass distortion at slightly higher sound

5. Marantz PM6004 + Mordaunt Short Mezzo 1 - Extreme clarity in sound, very musical & sweet, very much natural & balanced sound, clear mid range, balanced sound, it seemed as if the speaker has virtually disappeared.