Highest driveable speakers by Denon 1913???

tanmayj

Hi,

I have a friend who saw a steal deal on a Denon 1913 and is picking it up. Now it drives 90W per channel @ 8 Ohms 20Hz-20KHz.

Which is the largest speaker across vendors that this Amp can drive? Please suggest from Polk, Wharfe, Jamo or any other. He has a huge living + dining room, but the targetted sound field of these speakers (distance between the TV/ fronts and the couch) would be about 15-18 feet square. So I'd expect him to drive these speakers quite loud (70% volume approx).

I have a Polk TSi 400 paired with an Onkyo 616, which my friend really liked.

Can the 1913 drive a pair of TSi 400s? Or should I be looking at the TSi 300? Should I be looking at 6 Ohm speakers from other vendors like Wharfe etc. so that I'll get higher wattage per channel from the Amp? Or 8 Ohm speakers from Polk are fine because of the higher sensitivity?

I am not an expert at these things but from what I understand is higher wattage at 6 ohms means nothing. What matters is the sensitivity of the speakers. For instance, a 1db of increase in sensitivity, say from 89db to 90db, is not just a marginal increase - it is quite a significant increase. As far as what speakers to match an amp, the norm seems to be that the speakers should be rated below the capability of the amp. So considering 8 ohms, if the amp is rated at 90W rms per channel, the speakers should be capable of 80W at the same impedence. This is as far as I have read.

Hi,

I have a friend who saw a steal deal on a Denon 1913 and is picking it up. Now it drives 90W per channel @ 8 Ohms 20Hz-20KHz.

Which is the largest speaker across vendors that this Amp can drive? Please suggest from Polk, Wharfe, Jamo or any other. He has a huge living + dining room, but the targetted sound field of these speakers (distance between the TV/ fronts and the couch) would be about 15-18 feet square. So I'd expect him to drive these speakers quite loud (70% volume approx).