Intro - Me and my System

sathya

Hi AVcionados!

I am new to the Indian HI/AVForum but I am a manic about AV systems.

A little about me - I am currently based out of Bangalore - though I spent around 12 years living, studying and working abroad. During my undergraduate studies in India, I used to design speakers for friends and family (mostly infinite baffle systems using Thiele & Small parameters). My favourite is the servo controlled front loaded horns I built for my brother.

While living abroad I have auditioned several audio systems - Genesys, Infinity, Paradigm, Morden Short, Mission, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Wilson Audio, Bang & Olufsen (B&O), Polk Audio, Klipsch, Focale, Q Acoustics, Jamo, Mark Levinson, Classe, Rotel, NuForce, Karma, SVS, Rel, Goodwin, Wharfdale, Monitor Audio, Meridien, NAD, Krell, Magnepan, Grado, etc

In 2002, I owned the following:

Speakers:
Front: Mission M72
Centre: Mission M7c1
Surrounds: Mission M7ds
Sub: Mission M70as

AV Receiver: Technics (85W RMS into 6 ohms x 5)

TV: 32" Sharp CRT (I forgot the model but was a 16:9 format)

Recently, I have upgraded my AV system to:
Speakers:

Front: Bowers & Wilkins (B&W) 703
Centre: B&W HTM7
Surround: B&W DS7
Sub: B&W ASW750

AV Processor: NuForce AVP17

Amplifier: Rotel RMB-1075
DVD Player: Oppo 983H
Blue-Ray Player: Pioneer BDP 51FD
CD Player: Bryston BCD-1
Media Player: Netgear Elite 9150
HDMI switch: Oppo HM31
Cable: Kimber Kable interconnects: Timber for the front and Tonik for Centre and Surround; 4PR biwired for the front and centre and KWIK 12 for surrounds

TV: Sony Bravia SXRD KS60R200A 60" Full HD

Power clean: Monster

MP3 Player

iPod Nano, iPhone B&W Zepplin for iPod speakers

I am really looking forward to sharing and hearing about AV systems and your opinions and experiences in this forum

Thanks!

Last edited:
seems like you've gone through a lot of brands. if you could post comparisons between them it would be very informative.

sathya,