Kindle (or any ebook reader) queries

moktan

Being an avid reader of books it is tempting to consider the e-reader. However I am completely new to these things. I would be obliged if some forum member would help me out with these doubts. (I have never owned a smartphone or a tablet. So I don't know how these things work.)
I have a BSNL broad band connection at home. How exactly does one get/buy books on something like kindle? Does one have to use some other internet connection on the device itself? Or do I buy downloads of books on my computer and then transfer it to the reader? I have some movies on an external hard disk. Can I watch these on my device? Besides reading books, watching movies and listening to music, what other computer-like functionality do these devices offer? I am thinking of basic things like wordprocessing etc.
I know answers to these queries could be available somewhere on the net. But I trust the opinion of our forum members more. And I am sure the information would also help other noobs who are contemplating e-readers.
Thanks in advance.

I use a Kindle.

The device features a free 3G (on any network) or Wifi connectivity which can be used to download books. It can also be connected by USB to a computer and books can be uploaded from the computer iteself. I prefer this method and use a program called Caliber for sorting and uploading the books.

Black and White Kindle display is not back-lit and the brightness depends on the room light. This is very comfortable to read and easy on eyes.

If you want to watch movies, browse internet etc. then you can opt for a tab which have 'Kindle app' but reading books is not as comfortable as on the 'Kindle device' itself.

+1. Another recommendation for the Kindle.