Logitech Media Server (LMS) - Users Thread

amitk777

All,

This is a review of a software I have been using for many years. It has been continuously improving experience. Therefore I thought to share information scattered on the net and various forums. I am sure other members may be able to add / try their experience with this software.

I also used Roon for 2 years. I recently let the Roon membership expire.
There is a datedness driven by open source nature of things but I would request members not to be influenced by it and to prod on for a very rewarding audio experience. :)

Hardware :

1. Linux /Windows/Mac machine/ RPI 4 as server. ( Any old PC would also do) .
2. RPI 3 or 4 / Allo USBridge /Digione etc. / Chromecast devices
3. RPi HAT or Any other DAC ( I have Allo Piano with Kali and it is pretty good)
4. Ethernet Cables ( Go for wired connection )

Software :

LMS ( Logitech Media Server) :
Downloads (Windows, Linux, MacOS)
Getting Started

USP :
○ Up-sampling upto 384kHz for all sources inclusive of Tidal /Spotify - Setup in 1-click
○ Consumes low resources - therefore can be setup on even low power computers like RPi4 or old Linux PCs. I use an 8 years old 2GB RAM Hitachi laptop.
○ Free ...

History : Slimdevices server software goes back a decade. It was bought by Logitech, used for this Squeezebox line of products. After the demise of the squeezebox line, the software is still under active development

Key Features : Free UPNP, Remote Libraries, Tidal, Spotify Integration etc.

Plugins are the way to install additional functionality. All plugins are FREE. Some of the notable ones :

1609224513630.png
User Interface :

Ipeng on iOS ( Paid , note that you can also buy an option to make it a player, and take all advantages of server doing all the processing !!)

1609223266761.png

Material Skin Plugin ( Platform Independent - FREE)

1609223840475.png

In future posts , I will post some of the settings, which I have found useful.