Most reliable external hard disk

plasmoid

Hi all,
So I am in the market for a 2TB external hard drive. At present I have a WD 1TB drive which I have been using for the past 4-5 years which is almost full. When checking reviews on Amazon, I am seeing a large failure rate in hard disks across brands. Also most of them are sold by Appario Retail Pvt Ltd and I have read really bad reviews associated with this seller(selling refurbished products). So I have decided to pay a bit more and buy offline. Would appreciate some valuable advice on which brand is the most reliable these days. Thanks in advance.

I am using Seagate external Hard drive quite reliable... working well with Windows but some compatibly issues with mac

Hi all,
So I am in the market for a 2TB external hard drive. At present I have a WD 1TB drive which I have been using for the past 4-5 years which is almost full. When checking reviews on Amazon, I am seeing a large failure rate in hard disks across brands. Also most of them are sold by Appario Retail Pvt Ltd and I have read really bad reviews associated with this seller(selling refurbished products). So I have decided to pay a bit more and buy offline. Would appreciate some valuable advice on which brand is the most reliable these days. Thanks in advance.

I have used more than 6 external hard disks including both seagate and wd. 2 of the seagates have failed, my view, dont rely on harddisks for important data, they can fail anytime and leave you helpless. Always backup your data on cloud or use some raid based nas. As far as brands go, i will go for wd.

I rely on Seagate, they have had a very low failure rate for me. I still have a 3.5 Seagate FreeAgent external HDD bought in 2009, running fine. My home made NAS has Seagate 1 TB internal drives, running fine since 2012.

For general backups I use a Seagate 4TB bought from Amazon. No problems so far.