Multichannel sound in Gaming

mahiruha

Hi Guys,
although I have been gaming for past 16 years but never tried gaming using a multichannel sound. I am just wondering how is the dolby sound in a game like Battlefield Badcompnay 2 multiplayer version. currently I am playing this game in a stereo setup and I can hear sound very clearly but the problem is at times I can hear some bullets firing but unable to identify the direction from which it is coming specially with snipers. Can anybody tell me in 5.1 or 7.1 dolby set up is it possible to get precise imaging from which direction the bullet is coming? Does having a multichannel dolby sound setup gives any competitive edge?
Thanks.

Manu4panjab and teky are the right guys to answer this, but let me pitch in with my 2 cents.

I have a PS3 connected to a Multi-channel setup. I do not have exposure to the games you have mentioned, but I can assure you that multichannel for games is very enjoyable. I have played only racing games so far and I can hear sounds from rear left and right channel when I overtake a car or they come up behind me to overtake:). So, am sure you will benefit from hooking your gaming console\PC to a multichannel setup.

Hi Guys,
although I have been gaming for past 16 years but never tried gaming using a multichannel sound. I am just wondering how is the dolby sound in a game like Battlefield Badcompnay 2 multiplayer version. currently I am playing this game in a stereo setup
With surround sound playing game is more exciting especially while playing Race games and third person shooter game.
Can anybody tell me in 5.1 or 7.1 dolby set up is it possible to get precise imaging from which direction the bullet is coming? Does having a multichannel dolby sound setup gives any competitive edge?
Thanks.
Not sure since i havent played this game. It depends on the game we have to connect to surround system and check whether its working that way.I remember i have seen in net somewhere it works the way you told.