• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Need to connect PC to Sony Home theater

Join HiFiMART Telegram Channel for offers & deals

harishgayatri

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
10
Points
0
Location
Mulund
Hi,

I have a Pc with Standard 3.5mm Jacks

I want to connect it to my SONY Home theatre system DAV DZ-570 which has
options.

DMPORT
OPTICAL IN
DIGITAL IN

is there anyway that I can get the cable i.e 3.5mm to Digital/Optical/DMport manner.

Thanks in Advance
harishgayatri
 

reju

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
1,482
Points
83
Location
Mumbai
You can connect to Audio Stereo Line IN - Analogue
(I guess your HT does not have 5.1 analogue input.)

You will need 3.5 stereo to 2 RCA cable.
Of course you will not enjoy DD or DTS audio through this.

For DTS/ DD you will need a sound card with Optical/ Co-axial SPDIF output.
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,103
Points
0
Location
Chicago
DAV-DZ570 : DVD Home Theatre System : Home Theatre System : Sony India

the specs say it has got an analog in, optical in, coaxial in......use the line out (3.5mm to stereo RCA cable) from laptop to the analog audio in of the amplifier.

Interestingly it has also got a mini 3.5mm audio in (front mini) - so you can use a 3.5mm to 3.5mm audio cable directly between the line out of laptop and front mini in of avr

And yes in case you want to pass DTS, Dolby etc - you need an external SC (USB for laptop) - use the optical or coaxial to pass digital signal untouched

godspeed !!!
 
Last edited:

harishgayatri

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
10
Points
0
Location
Mulund
The analog in supports 2 channel only.

I would like to watch HD Movies on my LCD and hence enjoy it in 5.1 Dolby or DTS.

Ok

Which is the Budget soundcard I can get for my System.

My system has PCI slots not PCIe.

I am ready to keep my budget to Rs1000.
 

harishgayatri

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
10
Points
0
Location
Mulund
My onboard sound is based on SoundMAX Digital Audio.

It is giving me the option of AC3/PCM SPDIF.

When I use those options I am unable to hear sound from my 2 channel speakers.

If there is anything that can be done please mention it.

Thanks again
harishgayatri
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,103
Points
0
Location
Chicago
My onboard sound is based on SoundMAX Digital Audio.

It is giving me the option of AC3/PCM SPDIF.

When I use those options I am unable to hear sound from my 2 channel speakers.

If there is anything that can be done please mention it.

Thanks again
harishgayatri

see if the SC supports optical toshlink output - then you can use an optical cable to transfer DD/DTSaudio from PC to amplifier.

Please note the realtek chips are generic and have many versions and have multiple HW implementations by mobo manufacturers - so its difficult to say if that can support digital signal out or not.

See if the line out outputs static noise if you are passign dolby 5.1/dts audio selecting ac3 d5.1/dts out - if it does then you can use a minitoshlink converter (spdif interface) and use a optical cable to connect the laptop to the PC

For ref check out
Recoton ADC902 Audio Video Cable - Yahoo! Shopping
Philips PH61043 Audio Video Cable - Yahoo! Shopping
Cables - SPDIF - Optical plug 3.5 mm: Compare Prices, Reviews & Buy Online @ Yahoo! Shopping
 

harishgayatri

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
10
Points
0
Location
Mulund
This is my Pc's image.
dscn2562.jpg



These are the ports available behind my Home theater system
69142390.jpg


Please tell me what to do and what to ask the shopkeeper

Thanks
harishgayatri
 

harishgayatri

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
10
Points
0
Location
Mulund
That is not my Home theater's image

It is something that i posted from google just for understanding becoz the ports look the same.

Sorry.
 

marsilians

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,642
Points
83
Location
117.192.87.109
Digital output will be available on your motherboard, but it is not on the panel. There should be a header on the motherboard and it is possible to use it for digital output, but the extension bracket is not available separately, you will have to make one on your own, or get someone to make it for you.

The only other option is to buy a soundcard, I know of none within your budget of Rs. 1000/-, maybe other members will be able to suggest.

fleabay is the only option along with used.

eBay India: 5.1 Creative Sound Blaster 5.1 Sound Card (item 220443477548 end time 04-Jul-2009 18:55:02 IST)
 

harishgayatri

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
10
Points
0
Location
Mulund
Yeah There is one card

Creative Audigy Value Series 7.1 costing Rs 1850 in Lamington Road Mumbai.

It has S/PDIF out support.

Does anyone over here has this card?

Please comment on it.
 
Top