nneed a entry level htib for wd player and xbox

anshu22

Hi

newbie here. i have a wd hd live and a xbox 360. looking for a budget htib to enjoy 5.1 dolby and dts from these two sources mentioned.

i have searched the forums and am confused between the avr based htib and the dvd htib systems.

my question is.. do the dvd htibs take optical in from external sources like avrs do? some models say they have optical in but i want to know from people whether they will take audio in from a wd player or xbox 360 and can process the 5.1 audio?

its just that avrs are very bulky and all i want is 5.1 decoding from the wd live and xbox.

from people who are using wd live players... what htibs are you using and would recommend?

Hi

newbie here. i have a wd hd live and a xbox 360. looking for a budget htib to enjoy 5.1 dolby and dts from these two sources mentioned.

i have searched the forums and am confused between the avr based htib and the dvd htib systems.

my question is.. do the dvd htibs take optical in from external sources like avrs do? some models say they have optical in but i want to know from people whether they will take audio in from a wd player or xbox 360 and can process the 5.1 audio?

its just that avrs are very bulky and all i want is 5.1 decoding from the wd live and xbox.

from people who are using wd live players... what htibs are you using and would recommend?

Very few HTIB come with Optical In ..also some philips has Co-Axial Ins and you need to buy optical to co axial converter which you may have to import

anyway if you happen to know any htibs with optical input then pls put it on forum ,with exact model number and preferabaly internet links ,we can evaluatre it from specs

Now my suggestions
1) Logitec Z-5500 .....10 Inch Sub,5.1,with DTS ,DD and OPTICAL and Co=ax in ,around 18-20 K
2) See if you get Used HTIB with AVR ,in mumbai you sometimes get it for 10-15K
3) On some tech forums Z 5500 is availbe used ,try it