Noob ALERT ! Looking to purchase first HI FI, jump in and help folks !!

goldspot2011

I am an absolute noob when it comes to Hi-Fi, looking to invest in my first ever Hi-Fi. So a little help from the experts would help in a long way. I don't know my Hi Fi configuration yet, but I know my sound. I am a child of the late 80's and early 90's, My heart belongs equally to Grunge, Psychadellic, Alternative, Classic and Pop rock. For the last 3 years, I have developed a new found taste for EDM, Lounge & Trance. I like my classic and blues largely neutral, maybe +5% colour to the highs and lows on certain days. But I like my Alternative and Heavy rock fairly coloured, I am Bass heavy (like deeper thump) and in favour of adding some colour to the highs as well but I don't like it if its too bright sounding. I like the electric guitar to sound grain-ier than normal. I am not very fond of Mids unless I am listening to Classic rock. Maybe this is does not qualify as an audiophile taste, but thats the way it is...I like it this way.

My requirement is for a decent CD source, stereo AMP with Speakers (2 channel). I'd prefer 3 way speakers, not too impressed with 2 way Book shelf speakers. I'll be using CD, Mp3 and Ipad and Laptop for playing my music.

Room Size 12 x 12

Wore prefer higher wattage - 100 + Wattage (I like it loud)

I have been audition-ing Hi fi at a few places in Del & Pune to learn some and explore the options available.

1. I have tried combinations of below

CD Players - CD6004

Amplifier - Marantz PM6004, ARCAM PMJ A19

DAC - Benchmark (latest)

Speakers - Quads (Bookshelf), Wharfedale (Floor standing Diamond)

My learnings from this audition were:

- ARCAM A19 was impressive with absolutely zero distortion from 0-99 db
- Quads sounded clean good along with Wharfedale's, bass depth was an issue with all speakers
- There is a significant difference with or without DAC, ability to tightly hold the sound comes through

2. Second outing

CD Player : Pioneer