passive vs active speakers for ht set up!!!

harsha.chelikani

hello everyone im a newbie doing his first research in audio..i am considering buying a onkyo tx-nr5007/denon 4810 and pairing it with good floorstands in the range of 2000-2500$..is it possible to get better sound quality for the money spent if i go for a similarly priced pre amp and connect it to a good active speakers in a 5.1 setup..which would yeild me the best sq and et all...i mainly listen to metal music and gaming and ocassional movie watching..thanks in advance

A warm welcome to you. Personally I am a great fan of active loudspeaker systems and I use Genelec active loudspeakers myself. There are many performance advantages active speaker systems offer over passive ones. But they are quite expensive to manufacture hence they dont come cheap. You can find many discussions on this subject if you search the forum.

Last edited:
It is generally believed that DSP and amplification at the very end is the best in terms of signal loss and removing distortion. This is what Meridian does with its active speakers that have DSP also built in. At the source, the signals are decoded but kept in digital form. They are then sent individually to the respective speakers where the DSP, DAC, and amplification is done.

These kind of systems are generally very expensive to get the kind of performance you could get with passive speakers. There is a lot of redundancy as DSP, DAC and amplification are repeated for each speakers. You also need digital cables of long length that are expensive.

Cheers