Receiver and Speakers reccos needed...

nosh

Hi guys,

Complete noob here. I knew the audio scene was complicated but my head's spinning after a couple of hours of googling.

I'll try and narrow things down a bit:

I source my music through the PC, high bitrate mp3s or flacs.

Mostly listen to electronic, love melodic trance (Chicane, Oceanlab) and soft rock (Floyd, Dire Straits).

The system will be in a small room 12x10

Not interested in too many features in the receiver, just something with a great build quality that gives crystal clear sound over an extended period.

Budget is around 100k and can be even be pushed up a little. I don't want to cut any corners but I don't want to throw any cash on overkill either.

I currently have an ancient Sony component system (thing simply refuses to die!) hooked up to two wall mounted speakers, so it would be ideal if I could just replace the system with a receiver and the speakers with new ones.

I think I'll be content with 2 speakers, not particularly interested in 5.1.

I usually find myself pushing the treble up and keeping the bass low for most kinds of music.
No idea if I'll need a sub or not, it might give me the additional hassle of creating space for it but
if the overall sound quality is going to be enhanced I'll go for one.

I heard a pair of floor standing Klipsch, a few years back. They were going for around 70k and I still have a bit of a crush for that brand. Any idea about Klipsch dealers in Bombay?

I think that wraps it. I plan to buy very shortly so if you're reading this and can answer even a single part of my long post I'll really appreciate it. Thanks a lot.

For a room size of 12*10, you should be looking at bookshelves,

Keep a budget of 25k for an integrated amp, around 5k for wires and interconnects and 70k for speakers.