Repurposing Sony DAV DZ390K speakers

bhartisunil

Hi Friends,

I am new to this forum and a complete noob in the field of Audio, yet I have a strong desire to learn and implement some DIY projects as part of electronics hobby. The first project that I want to implement is to repurpose my old but working Sony DAV DZ390K speakers (the main unit is dead beyond repair) into an all in one sound bar/ boom box/ Karaoke system or stand alone Tower party speaker system with maximum possible functionality.

The specs of the speaker system are as follows;

4 units of Surround speakers: SS-TS94 Full Range Bass Reflex 65 mm Cone Type 3 Ohms
1 unit of Centre speaker: SS-CT91 Full Range Bass Reflex Magnetically Shielded 65 mm Cone Type 3 Ohms
1 unit of passive Subwoofer: SS-WS93 Subwoofer Bass Reflex 180mm Cone Type 1.5 Ohms

Specs for the amplifier Section in the Sony main unit (that's dead now) was as follows;

Stereo Mode (Rated) :
108W + 108W (at 3 Ohms, 1KHz, 1% THD)
Surround Mode (reference) RMS Output Power : FL/FR/S
L/SR/C : 144Watts (per channel at 3 Ohms, 1KHz, 1%THD) Subwoofer : 280Watts (1.5 Ohms, 80Hz, 10% THD)

What all systems do I need to add to these speakers to create a stand alone 2.1/5.1 sound bar/ BoomBox/ party Tower etc with USB/AUX/BT and Mic/Guitar inputs?

What would be the schematics?

Where could I source all the materials?

It's not about saving money, Its about creating something and learning in the process. So, kindly help.

Thanks and Regards,
Sunil BhartiSony DAV-DZ390K.jpeg

Last edited: