Samsung 40B650 spotted in Singapore - S$1,299

anandk

Greetings members. I am a newbie and this is my first post. I am currently in Spore on holiday. I happened to come across a Sammy 40" B650 in one of the Courts outlet. It is a display piece and is up for grabs at S$ 1299 (approx INR 44K). The price is def attractive. Is it worth going for the same? Areas of concern are dont know how long its been in the showroom and running. The display looks pretty much ok. no scratches, damages evident externally.
Also, does anyone have any idea whats the Customs duty to be paid in India? My understanding is it is the cost - 25K (basic exemption) and then the % of duty. Let me know.
The prices of other models are quite attractive.
Also saw a Panny v20 running Avatar blue ray. Awesome is not the word, unreal picture quality! Totally floored.

A display piece is as good as buying a second hand 44k isn't that great of deal,one can get a newer equivalent sony 40'' EX500 for 55k in indian grey market.So get newer 2010 lcd,rather then a used 2009 lcd.
I have seen many people bringing 40'' sized sony lcds.

thanks Adder for ur comments....am going to Harvey Norman tom to check on other models and prices. will update this forum accordingly.

Also, does anyone have any idea whats the Customs duty to be paid in India? My understanding is it is the cost - 25K (basic exemption) and then the % of duty. Let me know.

Hi Anand,

yes the duty free exemption is about 25K INR. However, whichever product you buy, the duty is calculated based on its MSRP in India (not discounted prices). In principle, the duty will be calculated as

35% of (Indian MSRP of product - Rs. 25,000 exemption)

So if the sale price of TV you're bringing in India is Rs. 60,000, your duty will be 35% of 35,000 which will be Rs. 12250. However, you may be able to pay much less or nothing depending on your "skills".