Suggestion on Onkyo TX-NR686 AVR + Yamaha NS Speaker Combo

swamytk

Hi Friends,

Thanks to everyone here, you guys maintain this wonderful vibrant community. I am a newbie to Audio world, not a audiophile. Here is my build plan and request your suggestion.

Current System: Sony 32" 720p LCD TV of 12 years old with TV audio + NO AV Receiver (Never used AV receiver)
Aim: Decent Cinematic experience within budget + Upgrade to 4K TV + 5.1.2 with support for latest Audio/Video standards

Total Budget: Around ₹ 2 lakhs
TV: Sony X9000F 55" LED (Finalized) - ₹ 1.2 lakhs
Audio System: Budget of around ₹ 1 lakh = AVR (₹ 50,000) + Speakers (₹ 60,000)

Execution: Incremental build over a year in 4 phases
First Phase: AV Receiver + Front Speakers
Second Phase: Centre speaker + Surround speakers
Third Phase: Sub-Woofer
Fourth Phase: Atmos speakers

Environment:
Rental house, simple speaker layout preferred, volume will be limited considering neighbours. Well lit hall of size 250 Sq.Ft

Shortlisted Products in my limited knowledge based on my requirement and googling reviews. Please suggest me your take on it. Since I am zero in Audio system, these are my listing based on googling. Please feel free to point out any of my idiotic preference if any.

AVR:
1. Onkyo TX-NR686 (Preferred)
- A lot of 4K HDMI HDR Ports + Built-in Chromecast feature is preferred, which I use a lot now with Audio Chromecast dongle connected to old
speakers
- In first phase I plan for Front L+R speakers only. But user manual of AVR says "Select "2.1 ch", "3.1 ch", "4.1 ch", "5.1 ch", "6.1 ch", "7.1 ch", "2.1.2 ch", "3.1.2 ch", "4.1.2 ch” or "5.1.2 ch" to suit the number of speaker channels connected." There is no option of 2.0 ch. Will I lose some audio if I select 2.1 ch.
2. Onkyo AVR-X1500H
3, Yamaha RX-V 685

Speakers:
1. Yamaha NS-8390 / NS-P51 / NS-SW200 (Preferred) + Onkyo SKH-410 (Atmos pair)
2. Polk Audio TL1600 + Onkyo SKH-410 (Atmos pair)