There's Life Above 20 Kilohertz!

I get uncomfortable with any frequency above 12kHz.

It pierces my ears, even though not being really audible.
So I prefer systems that cannot reproduce higher frequencies.

As a doctor I can comment that the instrument may go to higher frequencies but the human auditory system cannot perceive beyond 20 kHz however with age the hair cells within our cochlea responsible for detecting higher frequencies reduce in number and efficiency so by the time you are an adult the upper limit has come down to 18 kHz add a few decades and it is down to 15 kHz. So you may have a speaker setup producing 100 kHz the higher frequencies will be only disturbing the bats in your neighbourhood.

hmm can I have something to drive away the stray dogs? They are very aggressive and day before yesterday when I went for a morning walk, they almost attacked me.

Alpha,

I do not know the specific condition of your ears. Do have this problem when you attend live music (un amplified) ? Or in normal life when you listen to ambient sounds.

If not, then the problem is with the system and not with your ears. Most music systems sound distorted in the high frequencies.

The source is one of the biggest culprits behind bleached, distorted highs followed by speakers.

At low sound levels?
Distortion is easily audible at higher frequencies ...

Its just that I don't like that spectrum.
Neither pure sine waves, nor any music.

And nor speakers or amps that try to boost the high end to sound "high-end"

This 'super power' may come in handy if you live near vampire bats :D

hmm can I have something to drive away the stray dogs? They are very aggressive and day before yesterday when I went for a morning walk, they almost attacked me.

A Dog Whistle or dog repellent is what you need.

Could be listening fatigue. I faced this issue before, don't listen to your system for 2 weeks and then see if you still have this problem.

Last edited: