What Speakers/Sub to go with ONKYO TX-NR5007?

sanjayc

Gurus,

Am getting a good deal on Onkyo TX-NR5007 A/V Receiver, and more or less, will be finalizing the same.

Onkyo TX-NR5007 - THX Ultra2 Plus Certified 9.2 Channel Network Receiver | Model Information | Onkyo USA Home Theater Products

Keeping in mind the Onkyo model, need some expert advise on the speaker/sub setup. Few points to note:

1. Am a complete novice at all these, hence in case anyone derives sadistic pleasure in throwing around geeky stuff:D, please accompany the same with fair amount of layman's lingo or point some links where more details can be gathered:signthankspin:

2. This avr can handle 9.2, include Front L/R/C, High L/R, Wide L/R, Surround L/R, Rear Surround L/R and has 2 dedicated sub-outs. Phew. Initially, I intend to start with the basic 5.1 setup, hence, will require suggestions on Front L/R/C, Sub & Rear Surround L/R speakers.

3. I am more of a movie buff and less of a music guy. My prime requirement will be to watch BD/DVDs & Tata Sky+ (SD/HD) - music is occassional.

4. Room Dimension : 15 X 20 X 9 (Length / Width / Height) as of now.

5. Sony Bravia 40" KLV-40W300A

6. Sony BDP-S370 / WDHD TV / iPhone / iPod / XBOX/PSP/HD Camcorder are the various sources which I will be using

7. Budget for the 5.1 speaker selection ~100K as of now if that is what it takes to separate men from the boys;)

8. Will prefer sourcing from anywhere in India (particularly if servicing in Chennai can be done)..but am open to importing thru borderlinx etc

9. Suggestions regarding 120-240 volt converter and quality speaker cables also are most welcome.

Thanks.

9. Suggestions regarding 120-240 volt converter and quality speaker cables also are most welcome.

(1) I have said this many times before. Audition the speakers before your buy them. Literally all speakers can be auditioned in Chennai. Look for QA, DefTech, Martin Logan, Wharfedales, etc