Which APC UPS for only NAS or maybe HT system?

terrible

Active Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
462
Points
43
Location
Mumbai
I live in Mumbai and have very very few power outages. But now, my NAS, DS916+ has more than just movies and music but important work stuff and I was thinking of protecting it further from the few outages we do face. But there's a bit of a scenario to this, as the only place I have where I can place the UPS is within where were my entire system is, in the living room. I could also get one, which could take care of my HT system along with the NAS, but don't know if such a large UPS can be placed within where the entire system is. It would be appreciated if someone can suggest a UPS that can help even restart the NAS once power is back, or is that not possible? And one that runs on internal batteries.
 

Naturelover

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
4,150
Points
113
Location
Nagpur
Just use a simple desktop UPS.
Keep in mind, a larger UPS will have some fan noise.
That is usually recommended to be placed outside of the listening room.
 

terrible

Active Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
462
Points
43
Location
Mumbai
Just use a simple desktop UPS.
Keep in mind, a larger UPS will have some fan noise.
That is usually recommended to be placed outside of the listening room.

Guess then I'll just get a UPS for my NAS. Could you suggest one that I should buy?
 

MaSh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
3,513
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
If it's just nas and your society has generator back-up then all you need is probably a ups that is rated for 10-15 mins of backup. I use an iball ups for my desktop, router and minidsp.

MaSh
 

sud98

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
2,540
Points
113
Location
bangalore,india
If you use a good quality NAS HDD, they will be resilient to the very few power outages that Mumbai offers. So my advise would be you shouldnt need one.
 

terrible

Active Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
462
Points
43
Location
Mumbai
If it's just nas and your society has generator back-up then all you need is probably a ups that is rated for 10-15 mins of backup. I use an iball ups for my desktop, router and minidsp.

MaSh

No generator back up. But like I said, probably one or two outages a year.

If you use a good quality NAS HDD, they will be resilient to the very few power outages that Mumbai offers. So my advise would be you shouldnt need one.

I use WD Red and Seagate Ironwolf
 

MaSh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
3,513
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
No generator back up. But like I said, probably one or two outages a year.
Oh alright, basic ups then is sufficient to gratefully shut it down on those rare occasions. Maybe you can hook up router and other small devices on it too.

MaSh
 

blackscorpio

Active Member
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
486
Points
43
Location
Hyderabad
Try to find a compatible UPS which can auto shutdown the NAS in case of power failure. But you have to shell out more for such an UPS.
 

rksingh1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
440
Points
63
Location
Bangalore / Kolkata
I got the Luminous 600VA pro during last independence day sale. I am surprised with its coverage and power. How long of backup are you looking at? I needed only for small duration when the society generators turn on - but that little device can power my 55in TV, Yamaha v585, Tata sky, router and Rythmik L12 sub - all of them for those 20 seconds duration. I did a quick review here:

 

alladinkachirag

Active Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
296
Points
28
Location
Bangalore
I use APC BX600C equivalent that I bought long long back. Have my synology NAS, 1 gigabit switch, main router all connected, and it up and running for almost 7 years now. Quite happy....
 

manniraj

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
2,422
Points
113
Location
Chicago
I use APC BX600C equivalent that I bought long long back. Have my synology NAS, 1 gigabit switch, main router all connected, and it up and running for almost 7 years now. Quite happy....

How reliable is the APC as I have been running my Synology NAS, gigabit switch, Google home router, modem and whenever there is a power cut even though I have a sinewave inverter which kicks in immediately my NAS shuts off. Was creating a problem as I run my NAS 24/7 including the switch, router and modem. Then I moved to a simple i-ball Nirantar UPS and this works perfectly and my NAS does not get switched off with power cuts with the inverter kicks in immediately in battery mode.
 

alladinkachirag

Active Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
296
Points
28
Location
Bangalore
How reliable is the APC as I have been running my Synology NAS, gigabit switch, Google home router, modem and whenever there is a power cut even though I have a sinewave inverter which kicks in immediately my NAS shuts off. Was creating a problem as I run my NAS 24/7 including the switch, router and modem. Then I moved to a simple i-ball Nirantar UPS and this works perfectly and my NAS does not get switched off with power cuts with the inverter kicks in immediately in battery mode.
I am a happy APC user, and I can say that it is very reliable. Zero problems in these 7-8 years.
 

OM_2K19

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
1,830
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
I live in Mumbai and have very very few power outages. But now, my NAS, DS916+ has more than just movies and music but important work stuff and I was thinking of protecting it further from the few outages we do face. But there's a bit of a scenario to this, as the only place I have where I can place the UPS is within where were my entire system is, in the living room. I could also get one, which could take care of my HT system along with the NAS, but don't know if such a large UPS can be placed within where the entire system is. It would be appreciated if someone can suggest a UPS that can help even restart the NAS once power is back, or is that not possible? And one that runs on internal batteries.

This one should suffice your requirements. It's an industrial-grade UPS and pure Sinewave output, switchover time is 2ms (A very important factor for NAS devices).
 
Last edited:

terrible

Active Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
462
Points
43
Location
Mumbai
This one should suffice your requirements. It's an industrial-grade UPS and pure Sinewave output, switchover time is 2ms (A very important factor for NAS devices).

This looks good to me. You think I can plug my HT or may be components of it like Cambridge Audio CXR 200 or Oppo UDP 205; along with the NAS?
 

argho

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
812
Points
63
Location
Chennai
I use an APC ups for my NAS. Zero problems.

In fact I have 3 APC UPSs at home - 1 each for my router, PC and NAS (they are all in different locations in my house.

I would suggest get BX-1100C

 
Enhance your CD Listening with the versatile and amazing Audiolab 6000CDT Transport.
Top