AC 128/176

dr.partha

Hello frieds!
I'm back here after a long 5years, needing your help once again.
Hope your are all doing well.

Now coming to the point. As you probably knew that I have a couple of HMV fiesta record players. Recently one of them has died due to GE transistor failure. Both the output AC 128/176 are showing collector-emitter short! And now I don't have any more spare.
I searched a lot but this time with no luck ( though I found a pair 5 year back). I found a few online with high priced tag. In some forums, they advised to replace these by 2n3904/3906 Si pair with bias modified. I worked a lot,having less knowledge in biasing, at last succeded to bring the audio out of it. But the sound is not up to the mark like original GE pair.And also the volume is low. As I'm not a tech expert so couldn't draw a circuit diagram, so I couldn't upload it.

Any help from your end is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Hello Dr.Partha, firstly did you actually use the 2N3904/3906 pair as a replacement? If yes, its not just with biasing but a few other circuit elements will also need to be redesigned. Yes, AC127/128, AC187/188 etc metal body transistors are not available these days. While they were famously used in small power amplifiers of portable audio and radio equipment in the 1970s and very early 1980s, their demanded reduced with he advent of small amplification ICs like the BEL700 (AM radio with inbuilt amplifier) and the BEL CA810 or Japanese TBA810 ICs (small power amplifier which could deliver 1 to 7 watts depending on the PSU and heatsink). BEL used to manufacture these transistors in India and has long stopped production. Knowing the history, here are your options:

1) Try for these in very old electronics spares shops (especially if the owner/proprietor is an elderly gentlemen). They may have a few of these left and the older generation shop owners would know these very well as they were commonly bought by students like me in those times