Advice for bookshelf speakers for Marantz PM 7200

soundseeker

Hi there,

I am a newbie on this forum and belong to the neighboring Bangladesh.

So, first thing first, Namaste, Salam and Adab to All of you.

"Towfa Kobul Kijiye, Maharajo":clapping:

Found about this forum while surfing the net for the right kind of speakers as I am thinking to upgrade my system.

I have been running a Marantz PM 7200 amplifier with a pair of decades-old Sharp speakers. Sounds well, but HELLO!!! not great. :D

However, was looking to upgrade the system with a pair of bookshelf speakers. I'm on a very tight budget that is, maximum US $ 200-250. :eek:hyeah:

Can anyone advise what should I get??

I listen to all type of music ranging from classical (both western and eastern) to hard rock, pop and old (till the 90s) metal songs.

Another thing, the user manual that comes with the Marantz says "at least 8 ohms speakers" should be connected for one set of speakers and each speakers should be "at least 16 ohms" if two sets of speakers are connected.

Does it mean that I have to change 8 ohms speakers to 16 ohms ones if i want to attach another pair???

Would really appreciate your expert opinion on this matter as well.

Regards,

Soundseeker, welcome to the forum!

Where will you be purchasing the speakers from? What all brands are available?

I am a newbie on this forum and belong to the neighboring Bangladesh.

Welcome, have a great time.

I have been running a Marantz PM 7200 amplifier

The first speaker brand that comes to my mind for Marantz is Wharfedale speakers, excellent synergy between them. For your amp, I might lean more on the Diamond 9.1/9.2.

:)

Salaam Miya.

Anngo ektu koriya zanaiben ki kon kon foreign speaker brands paowa zai aapnago okhanaey?

We should be able to guide you after you let us know of the brands available at your end.

Cheers