AKG k371bt: VFM reference headphone?

Enkay78

B38BE2F2-B564-43C6-AB4B-93D870221946.png

I know this might be a little late.

Keeping aside the QC issues, I feel Harman did a nice one with K371bt. At the current price point on Amazon Rs 6900/- , this headphone is very very VFM with the almost reference frequency response. (It has a little more bass extension…..but I, personally am loving it).

I was hunting around for a headphone which would match with the reference harman curve. Recently a DAN CLARK STEALTH was launched which used metamaterials …. with excellent measurements and a curve with the best compliance to reference. It piqued my interest …..but the price was beyond my budget. I started searching around any other headphones which measures almost as good as the Dan Clark Stealth.

I was hoping an audeze/seinheisser/ audiotechnica would be that affordable one for me. But I was surprised each of the many models of headphones which I studied were with compromised curves. Now I am in a dilemma - I don’t have opportunities to audition. I have Amazon but returning the ones not suiting my taste would mean a lots of headphone to buy and return. So I had to rely on a objective measurement which will reflect the performance of the headphones. (Going by my experience with well measured DACs within my affordable budgets, I am convinced I would like a well measured headphone. I liked my Sabaj……and now my Topping D90se)

Then AKG K371 came into my radar from a comment in a forum. I was intrigued. I started hunting why it was popular and what were its measurements. Imagine my surprised to see it has almost a compliant curve with reference except for more sub bass extension…..and some distortion which was within acceptable level (for me)

The many reviews and issues especially QCs with this headphone was a bit downer…..but the price currently in Amazon was too good for the performance.