• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Amplifier protection

HiFiMART.com

cooltoad

Active Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
587
Points
43
Location
chennai
Hi folks,
Got a nad 320bee and waiting for my speakers. Tried the amp with my headphone a few times and y'day when i connected the amp to a 5 amp wall socket, after a couple of minutes, there was a sudden blast and spark from the amp and thought for a moment it would go up in smoke and even the invertor didnt work.BTW, the entire room has been rewired just now with proper earthing. Had to reset the invertor and then connected the amp (with a faster heartbeat) and thankfully the amp was working.

My question is whether the problem is due to connecting to a 5amp socket or has it got to do anything with the invertor line? Pl help me how to safely use the amp with precautions if any.I am scared to even plug the amp for now.
 

sachin_k5

Active Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
373
Points
28
Location
Mumbai
i think somewhere the positive and negative got joined causing a short circuit. Short circuits will create a spark and some noise but may not destroy equipment.
 

cooltoad

Active Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
587
Points
43
Location
chennai
Thanks Sachin, guessed that could be the reason, but wasnt so sure, so just in case i need any other precaution...
 

bergkamp

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
20
Points
0
Location
Singapore
Could be a faulty power point. Not uncommon.

What do you mean by invertor didnt work? You running your HiFI off a power backup inverter ?:eek:
 

cooltoad

Active Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
587
Points
43
Location
chennai
Could be a faulty power point. Not uncommon.

What do you mean by invertor didnt work? You running your HiFI off a power backup inverter ?:eek:


No, not a dedicated hifi backup invertor. Problem is most likely due to some short circuiting.My question is does it make any diff if we connect the amp to 5 amp or 15 amps?
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,660
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Did you check smell/smoke was not from amp?else becareful.
Sometime powerfluctuation & improper connection caused problem.
Similar happened with my AC ,when power came up(load shedding)& AC was on,I got similar sound ,smell & when checked ,AC power pin was not joined properly & AC was working.
 

marsilians

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,642
Points
83
Location
117.192.87.109
No, not a dedicated hifi backup invertor. Problem is most likely due to some short circuiting.My question is does it make any diff if we connect the amp to 5 amp or 15 amps?

5 amp circuit is not sufficient to drive the load and may cause undue stress on the amp. Use atleast a 15 amp source esp. if you are connecting other components on the line. This could be causing a short. Also its a potential fire hazard since you may be putting undue load on the system. I would call an electrician to rewire. Its dangerous at best
 

cooltoad

Active Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
587
Points
43
Location
chennai
5 amp circuit is not sufficient to drive the load and may cause undue stress on the amp. Use atleast a 15 amp source esp. if you are connecting other components on the line. This could be causing a short. Also its a potential fire hazard since you may be putting undue load on the system. I would call an electrician to rewire. Its dangerous at best

Thanks Marsilians, will use a 15 amp socket. Did the rewiring just recently. will have to call the elctrician to check the line again.Is it advisable to connect the amp to a junction box. I know it will be stupid with standard boxes. But any idea about a good junction box to take the load?
 
Top