Amplifier WATT vs Speaker WATT

slimetcake

Hi. I'm looking for an amplifier for my speakers, and I therefore have a very general question regarding this topic. I'm hoping that you can help me:

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Let's say that 2 floorstanding speakers have a sensitivity of 90.00 dB and a nominal impedance of 6 ohm. They also have a recommended amplifier power of 40 - 150 W (I'm guessing that's PER speaker?)

And then let's say that an amplifier had these specs:
2 x 125 Watt at 6 ohm

Here's what I'm not sure about:

Does this mean that the amplifier gives 215 W to each speaker?
Would an amplifier with the mentioned specs be under- or overpowered?

Please make sure to explain why you answer what you answer. I'm new to this, so I need to make sure I understand :eek:

Last edited:
Hi. I'm looking for an amplifier for my speakers, and I therefore have a very general question regarding this topic. I'm hoping that you can help me:

Let's say that 2 floorstanding speakers have a sensitivity of 90.00 dB and a nominal impedance of 6 ohm. They also have a recommended amplifier power of 40 - 150 W (I'm guessing that's PER speaker?)

2 x 215 Watt at 6 ohm

Please make sure to explain why you answer what you answer. I'm new to this, so I need to make sure I understand :eek:

You'll generally not go wrong if your amplifier has a higher power rating than your speaker (1.5 times speaker rating seems to be the thumb rule). It is also preferable for the amp to support a lower impedance load (or at least equal) to your speakers.

For quite a while I was driving 100W speakers with 200W amp, and it actually sounded good - like the amp had full control of the speakers.

All the best in your amp hunt!