• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Audition & purchase of headphone(Beyerdynamic 770,Shure 440,Sony 7506,AKG,Sennheiser)

Castle Knight 2 Speakers

Sub#

Hi Guys,

Some months back, I started thinking about buying good quality headphone (Type - over the ears, closed). Earlier i was thinking about doing Stereo/home theater setup in 2012 in Pune, but had to postpone it due to my onsite assignment. Doing any setup here in Amsterdam & moving back to Pune is big challenge. So, I finally decided to just get good quality headphones till I am onsite. The process of finding good headphone lasted few months. I am not an expert in this field, but I like to listen to good quality music. so please consider this post as My experience, instead of expert analysis.

Note : I auditioned many of these headphones using my mobile as source as i didn't have DAC/AMP. But nonetheless, still i got to know, how they sounded. The result might have been different if i had DAC/Amp. But I might be using the headphone without amp as well, so i judged accordingly. I will later buy DAC/AMP though.

The songs that I used for yesterday's audition were - FLAC songs of ='Sanam re' (title song), 'Fifth Harmony - Worth It', 'Coktail - Tumhi ho Bandhu', 'Qayamat_Se_Qayamat_Tak', 'Major Lazer - Lean On', Some recent English hits & some songs from shop's PC (which had DAC/AMP attached).

I had earlier done audition with Audio Technica ATH-M50x. I liked the sound, but found that the ear-cups were not big enough for my ears; my earlobe sticking out. So I decided not to go for it. After that, it took 2-3 months to take the audition of other headphones.

There was a discount sale at local shop mediamarkt.nl, where I audtioned Senehsiesr & Sony's.