BOSE 301 Series V Direct /Reflecting Speaker System

raghumailbox

Hi,
Can the BOSE 301 Series V Direct/Reflecting Speaker System be for regular stereo listening? and also working as front L-R speakers to my HT?
Any users here on the thread, please tell me your views.

Hi, I'm also considering to get this pair for my upcoming HT setup. Once I got a demo in Mumbai (the BOSE showroom inside Atria Mall). The 'BOSE 301' was sounding good with a Denon AV Receiver. Though it was not an ideal Stereo setup in an audiophile context but the pair sounded good, at least in their price band of 18k. It was very clear sounding.

My take is that it will be very good for HT but in a conventional Stereo purpose there will be better speaker (Book Shelf) in that price.

State your budget & use. If you are looking for just front speakers, or surrounds or center or subwoofer or combination of all & If you intend to upgrade in the future. (You have mentioned stereo speakers, does that mean you dont intend to upgrade in the future, and that you will always use it for music? Do you intend to use a subwoofer too? If yes, does the budget include the subwoofer?)
Also, do you have space constraints? Should the speakers be small only, or can it be big floorstanding ones? :)

With the same budget you can get much better systems, we can suggest some names and you can get a demo for yourself.

...and do note. You are in a HiEnd audio system forum. If you have come here expecting to hear good stuff about bose, you will be disappointed...and rightly so.

Last edited:
I have been using the Bose 201 direct reflecting (!) for about a 2 years now as surround L/R in 5.1 set up. I had bought them for about 11 k from Bose at atria mall, mumbai. My main/fronts for HT and stereo are Sonodyne towers (see signature).