By seeing the specs, how to find the right combination of Tweeter + Woofer + 2way Crossover

Naveenbnc

Dear all....

Lets say I want to build a 2 way tower speaker with an 8" woofer and a tweeter.
Just by looking at the specs of woofer and tweeter , I want to select a suitable 2 way crossover as well.

So what matching parameters should I look at first ?? How do we decide the a particular woofer and tweeter work well with a particular crossover?
Lets say for a newbee, are there any thumb rules etc to ensure minimum guarantee?

Should we consider enclosure design also in the beginning itself?

Just for example, im listing below some random specs.
Any guidance please .... (im also studying whatever i can)

TWEETER
Nominal Impedance 6 Ohms
DC Resistance - 3.5 Ω
Resonance Frequency - 1500 Hz
Operating Range - 2,000 Hz to 20,000 Hz
Power Handling {IEC-268-5C} * - 10 Watt
Long Term Power {IEC-268-5L} * - 30 Watt
Short Term Power {IEC-268-5S} * - 50 Watt
Sensitivity (2.83V/1m) - 91 dB

WOOFER
Nominal Impedance 8 Ohms
Resonance Frequency 40 Hz
Power Handling {IEC-268-5C} 40 Watt
Long Term Power {IEC-268-5L} 120 Watt
Short Term Power {IEC-268-5S} 200 Watt
Sensitivity (2.83V/1m) 88 dB
Resistance (DC) 5.5 Ω
Qms 4.38
Qes 1.1
Qts 0.63
BL 4.78 T-M
VAS 21.51 Liters

CROSSOVER
Output Impedance 8Ω
Crossover Frequency 2.5kHz
Slope/Octave 6dB
Maximum Input Power 60WRMS

Thanks in advance...
naveen

thanks a lot for the link :):) I searched as much as i can, by looking at each page... but i couldn't find it easily

just the specs will not help in building crossover. You can look at the f/r curves to get a rough idea on the xo points, but unless you are willing to compromise on the sound quality, no ready built xo will fit two randomly selected speaker drivers.
You need measuring equipment, in depth knowledge of simulation software like REW and such, lots of patience to build a proper xo.