Counter Weight & Anti Skating! Help Required

vktarun

Dear Friends !

I have little knowledge regarding maual Turntable so need your help in Tone Arm setting,[was using earlier Fisher Automatic linear Tracking Turbtable]

Following are the details of the Turntable in question.

Model No: Cosmic Cogram MK II DD
Tone Arm: Jelco
Cartritge : Classic 700

Its a Direct Drive TT with original company fitted Tone Arm and most probably original Company Fitted Cartritge also. I have following query in this regard.

1. What is the recommended Counterweight ? the TT manual says 0 to 3 gms, which is very wide without any practical use ?

2. How to adjust Anti-Skating Force without a Test LP on this TT ?

3. The Counter weight is calibrated only from 0 to 3 gms, If I use a different cartritge which requires say 6 gms then how to do it? Whether I need to turn it 2 times i.e. 3gms+3gms

4. Glad to have Any other suggestion in this regard.

I am posting a few pictures to clarify the Anti-Skating mechanism.

Regards,

Vipin.

Attachments

• 9.jpg
    9.jpg
    13.1 KB · Views: 130
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    10.4 KB · Views: 129
  • final.jpg
    final.jpg
    18 KB · Views: 131
Hi you will find most of the Tts with 3 grams of counterweight.Most of the modern carts need tracking force of .75 to 1.5 grams.General rules of setting Anti sket force of the same value of tracking force.
BTW: Nice looking TT with Classic 700 MM cart.Please upgrade current cart like Shure 97xe
Regards,
Sachin

Last edited:
With the current cart. I would advise you to track with a weight of about 1.5-2.0 gms.
Also, as Sachu said, the anti-skating should normally be equal to your tacking weight. But if it poses R-L channel imbalance, you can set it audibly on running TT.