• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Denon 2309, no audio

Subscibe to HiFiMART Newsletter

pradski

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
279
Points
18
Location
Mysore
HI, can anyone help.

My AVR was working fine till morning. It was playing tuner. Switched it off before going to work.
Evening I switch it on. No audio is coming from anywhere.

All input modes, all connections no sound.

Reset microprocessor and checked connections. tried audyssey it just hangs to audyssey calibrating. No test tones come.

does this have to go to service centre. Just around 10 months old.

Any body can give some idea, I will be grateful.

Thanks in advance.
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,103
Points
0
Location
Chicago
HI, can anyone help.

My AVR was working fine till morning. It was playing tuner. Switched it off before going to work.
Evening I switch it on. No audio is coming from anywhere.

All input modes, all connections no sound.

Reset microprocessor and checked connections. tried audyssey it just hangs to audyssey calibrating. No test tones come.

does this have to go to service centre. Just around 10 months old.

Any body can give some idea, I will be grateful.

Thanks in advance.

are you sure there was no power surge before the unit died? usually most avrs have a surge protection circuitry which makes the amp switch off - sometime the power circuit may be damaged though. It can be replaced without problem - will cost a few k's though. Try to get it under warranty.
 

prakasse

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
562
Points
0
Location
bangalore
First Checker your speaker connections ans setting of the AVR. If everything is normal then immediately inform the service center.

Since the avr is less than 12 months warranty is still valid. so don't worry.

Thanks,
Prakash.
 

pradski

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
279
Points
18
Location
Mysore
suprateep,

no power surge, as I have a stabiliser and before it shut we switched it off.
thanks
prakasse,
thanks
rest fine I think I need to get to service centre, OH i have to go to bangalore
that is the problem.
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,103
Points
0
Location
Chicago
suprateep,

no power surge, as I have a stabiliser and before it shut we switched it off.
thanks
prakasse,
thanks
rest fine I think I need to get to service centre, OH i have to go to bangalore
that is the problem.

best of luck man......you are covered under the 1 year warranty - nothing to worry. Most probably a small issue with the power circuitry that can be quickly fixed.
 

marsilians

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,642
Points
83
Location
117.192.87.109
do you get any sound from the front rca jacks?

If not, since you are getting power, its not the PSU. Leave the AVR unplugged from the wall for an hour or so for a possible reset. Try connecting 1 speaker across all connecitons one after the other. If they all play then you are good to go with the full conneciton. otherwise it could be your audio circuitry - typically a fuse or a relay or a swtich. Then send it right back for fix under warranty
 

mahiruha

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
1,134
Points
63
Location
kolkata
Hello,
please check all the connection in the speaker end. It might happen that somehow the +ve and -ve end got connected together. It happened to me thanks to the maid in the house. while sweeping the floor she snapped the speaker cables and the +ve and -ve got attached together and as a result no sound was coming out of the avr.
Thanks,
Mahiruha.
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,660
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
best of luck man......you are covered under the 1 year warranty - nothing to worry. Most probably a small issue with the power circuitry that can be quickly fixed.

As you said, best of luck ,its really needed bcos service of Denon is BAD or very slow.They dont get actual fault,but only try to change circuit boards.
 

pradski

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
279
Points
18
Location
Mysore
thanks marsiliens,mahiruha,spirovious.

Nothing is working I think it needs to go service centre.

One more thing. I had this norge amp. When I last got it. It was working fine. from that day (couple of months) it was off the power, i mean disconnected and never used it.
Last night I removed all and connected the norge. Norge also is not working It gets on. No audio in headphone or speaker.
(is it a ploy by my neighbours, there is a girls' hostel next to my compound -:eek:hyeah:)

OR is it my luck.
 

Abhishek

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
138
Points
18
Location
bangalore
hi Shiva!

Instead of connecting any more equipment, please check your power supply first. you might end up frying more equipment.

regards,
abhishek.

thanks marsiliens,mahiruha,spirovious.

Nothing is working I think it needs to go service centre.

One more thing. I had this norge amp. When I last got it. It was working fine. from that day (couple of months) it was off the power, i mean disconnected and never used it.
Last night I removed all and connected the norge. Norge also is not working It gets on. No audio in headphone or speaker.
(is it a ploy by my neighbours, there is a girls' hostel next to my compound -:eek:hyeah:)

OR is it my luck.
 
Top