Denon / Marantz AVR

anshumanm

Dear All,

This is my first post and I am a total amateur in the HT world. Need advice from all Gurus of these forum.

Mt drawing room is 12 * 10 ft with wooden flooring and the distance from my system to the sitting area will be approx 9 ft. The system needs will be connected to LCD TV and also be good for listening (ghazals / soft rock). In amateur words having that sound effect while watching Transformers movie as well as listen to Bryan adams or Jagjit singh. I have read the past post and understood that I should go for 5.1 system with an avr sub. Please correct me if I am wrong.

I also understood Marant / Denons are Kings in amps. Please advice on a model which will suffice my requirements.

Speakers - After reading all the review I liked ETC 5.1 but is it a big jump for a novice like me ?

I also want to buy a turntable few months down the line.

I am not going to buy these at the same time because of budget constraints but will buy in installments. Have a budget of around 40 - 50K.

I am based out of mumbai so if you could help me with the shops and approx pricing it will help me a lot to begin.

Sorry for making this post a long one but tried to include all details so that it helps in your suggestions.

Try and give your preference for movies v/s music. Some AVRs are better for music and some for movies in the budget provided. Also what are your future plans for the system. Are you planning to invest more in this 1 year in the future or you'd rather have this system for a longer duration and want to set up everything right away.

For around 50K you'd get an AVR and discrete 5.1 set up. ETCs have very good reviews but you will get it for around 35K in Mumbai I guess which leaves just 15K for AVR.

Give Pioneers a chance ... for AVRs. I ain't regretting! Pretty good for both music as well as movies.

Keep a budget of 15-20K for AVR max. Rest for 5.1 'satellite' speakers.

Dear kneo & avidyarthy,