Digital audio fundamental question

Sawyer

First, I am not an engineer. Second, I gave up on mathematics when I came across Calculus.
With that, is there some one that can help me with this in simple terms?
My understanding of digital audio is that it can never replicate an analog wave form perfectly, but can approximate it well enough based on the how content heavy the information it uses is in 0s and 1s, such that a DAC can reproduce the original analog wave form to the degree of accuracy needed for it to sound identical to the original wave form. Or even measure it to be so, using the best of instruments currently available.
I have always thought of this, in simple terms, as drawing a circle with straight sided figures like squares. The more the sides to the figure beyond the 4 in a square, the closer it is to a perfect circle. But no matter how many sides are there, even infinity, in theory it will not be the same as a circle. To the eye, depending on the size of the circle, it will look a perfect circle very quickly, maybe with 20-30 sides to the figure.
Anyone using the Nyquist theorem in reply may please do so without using math!

Very interesting. Exactly how I view digital music. And the analogy you have used to define is just perfect.

However, the only fact (which I assume is a fact??) is that though digital is an 'approximation' of analog wave, but it is well beyond our listening abilities or what we can hear, hence, in other words, the limitation to digital music is the listener. Do not know what I am speaking is correct or not, but that is my view.

Unless some one comes in and corrects me, I still believe that digital music may produce an analog wave of sound which may still be a sample of the original (hence the term sampling rate) but that sample is still well beyond our hearing abilities. Hence, addition of any more details is probably not useful to us as a listener.

Regards.