DIY 2way Speaker Questions

yatgai

I am planning to make sealed 2way Diy speakers to go along with LM3886 based chipamp. Amp will be 2 monoblocks with output of around 50W RMS

I came across Eminence Speakers, woofer Alpha 10A and tweeter ASD1001 which will need to be mounted on horn.

Speaker parameters attached ( I could not upload the data sheet as they are exceeded the limit).

My choice of music is hindi songs, hindustani instumentals at moderate volumes.

I am totally new in the field and non engineer. Can someone on this forum help me with following :

1> is it a good combination, can anyone suggest a tweeter /woofer ? preferably availabe in India on mail order.
2> any suggestions for XO point & slope with scematic & values
3> tweeter sensitivity is too high and will need to be horn loaded, I think this will make high freq music much brighter any suggestions for LPad design ?
4> woofer impedence rises at high freq any suggestions for zobel ?

Thanks for the help

Yatin

Attachments

• Eminence Driver Data.xls
    14 KB · Views: 0
i dont think there is a significant advantage in using monoblocks, save some money and go the normal way. i dont think there are many people in the world that can make out the difference between the monoblock and normal, specially with a low power amp (by that I mean not a high power amp:)).

these are pro/guitar drivers, so dont know. horns, so dont know. not everyone likes the horn sound, so first audition listen to some horn system to see if you like them.

In the home audio world, there are not many 8" woofers that can mate with a tweeter to give you a 2 way. forget about 10". but then this is a pro audio driver. check before you purchase.