• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

DIY Speaker Switch

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
640
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
On one of my friend request i have made a DIY Speaker Switch from local components available. It has 2 Inputs from Amplifier & Single Output to Speakers, so he can enjoy any one of his amplifier without changing the Speaker Cables.

I had shared the Photos on our forum earlier but in different Discussion Thread the link for same is Speaker Switch

Below are the Photos of same.












Sadik
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

rpmahale

Active Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
580
Points
43
Location
INDIA
Just came across this DIY project and it's neat and worth. Your floorstanding speakers get a lots of appreciations from FM. As you are DIY person, I will request you to take Dolby Atmos speakers project. Most of the FM are switching to Atmos enable AVR and find it difficult to source Atmos speakers which can be easily mounted on wall or ceiling. You may discuss with FM regarding specifications. It will be a great help in this regards....
 

Jams4znik03

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
193
Points
18
Location
Pune
On one of my friend request i have made a DIY Speaker Switch from local components available. It has 2 Inputs from Amplifier & Single Output to Speakers, so he can enjoy any one of his amplifier without changing the Speaker Cables.

I had shared the Photos on our forum earlier but in different Discussion Thread the link for same is Speaker Switch

Below are the Photos of same.












Sadik
Nicely done ! How about putting the Toggle switch as push button ? Do we compromise anything if done?
 

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
640
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
I think for Push Buttons it will require additional circuits & I am not master in circuits. where as this one is simple toggle switch.
 

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
640
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
Just came across this DIY project and it's neat and worth. Your floorstanding speakers get a lots of appreciations from FM. As you are DIY person, I will request you to take Dolby Atmos speakers project. Most of the FM are switching to Atmos enable AVR and find it difficult to source Atmos speakers which can be easily mounted on wall or ceiling. You may discuss with FM regarding specifications. It will be a great help in this regards....
I will try to design one
 

rpmahale

Active Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
580
Points
43
Location
INDIA
Thanks @sadik for your interest and help. We are looking for something wonderful in this regards like your beautiful floor standing speakers.. .
 

Kumar442244

Active Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
327
Points
28
Location
Bangalore
This is wonderful stuff.

I have been looking for this since long. This certainly will help me and many others in look out for the same .
 

zendya

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
77
Points
8
Location
Bangalore
Hi...This is really nice. Last couple of days I have been looking for this type of selector.

One ques - What type of toggle switch have you used or what is called? Basically from what I read, at no point the two sets of amp outs should get connected. So the switch has to first disconnect the first set of connections before making the other connection. Given that I see the OFF option, I believe the switch has that already addressed, right?
 

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
640
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
Hi...This is really nice. Last couple of days I have been looking for this type of selector.

One ques - What type of toggle switch have you used or what is called? Basically from what I read, at no point the two sets of amp outs should get connected. So the switch has to first disconnect the first set of connections before making the other connection. Given that I see the OFF option, I believe the switch has that already addressed, right?
Yes at centre there will be no connection.
 

Kannan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
1,434
Points
113
Location
Chennai
Hi...This is really nice. Last couple of days I have been looking for this type of selector.

One ques - What type of toggle switch have you used or what is called? Basically from what I read, at no point the two sets of amp outs should get connected. So the switch has to first disconnect the first set of connections before making the other connection. Given that I see the OFF option, I believe the switch has that already addressed, right?
It is a DPDT toggle switch with a null position.

Here is an example

http://projectpoint.in/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=499014897803&keyword=dpdt

I too made one with two of these switches for some testing purpose, but nothing of this degree of cosmetic and user friendly perfection.
 

zendya

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
77
Points
8
Location
Bangalore
It is a DPDT toggle switch with a null position.

Here is an example

http://projectpoint.in/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=499014897803&keyword=dpdt

I too made one with two of these switches for some testing purpose, but nothing of this degree of cosmetic and user friendly perfection.
Yes - with the switches like above or the others that I could find online, we would need two switches (3-pairs). Looks like somehow Sadik was able to find one with six pairs - that way only one switch is enough.
 

Kannan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
1,434
Points
113
Location
Chennai
Yes - with the switches like above or the others that I could find online, we would need two switches (3-pairs). Looks like somehow Sadik was able to find one with six pairs - that way only one switch is enough.
Yes 12 pole DPDT was also available, but I got of these as it was cheaper and I just needed it for some temporary testing
 

MaSh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
2,355
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Anyone looking for one these switches? I got one, but now not using it as my setup changed. It's a fantastic box of very high quality. Pm me for details.

MaSh
 
SPONSORED ADS

Top