Document Expiry Reminder

chander

Hi All,

A topic for general lounge.

I am looking for a reminder app that allows me to create & store document expiry details for my vehicles. I have 4 Vehicles in the house & between insurance (OD & 3rd Party); PUC, Service etc, I keep forgetting something or the other always.

Also would love to have the option to save in other things like NPS contributions, ELSS, Medical Insurance etc.

I know Google Calendar is the best option out there, but with my calendar looking like a hospital trash bin, it will be very easy to miss these items - as has happened!

Wanted to check if anyone has a solution?

Thanks!

For me, my bank notifies me of such events ;)

How you ask?
Its not a straight forward setup.

I am a salaried professional and avoid unexpected big expenses. So all my annual expenses are split into monthly installment.
I have around 25 recurring deposits (bank RD) for all my annual commitments. Insurance premiums, automobile servicing, tax payments, etc.
The RD maturity date matches the annual payment due dates (not exactly but well within the payment due date)
When the RD matures, my bank sends me an SMS about the amount being credited to my savings account.
That is my reminder! :cool:

There is a catch. You can't add a name or tag to the bank RDs. With multiple RDs, one can easily loose track of RDs and its mapping to the annual goals.
To overcome this issue I use ICICI bank's iWish accounts (No, I am not associated with ICICI bank nor I get paid for promoting their products)
iWish accounts are nothing but recurring deposit accounts with flexible installment options. It allows for naming the accounts. It is modelled around goal based investing. You provide the goal name, goal amount and the monthly/quarterly deposits which is optional.