• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Dolby atmos from PC?

Audiolab 6000A Amplifier

edjamesx

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
575
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
When you say its flat, do you mean lacking bass?
The highs are not crisp , its sounding like old radio ...and there's less bass.

As u mentioned here, i believe u are using hdmi directly to AVR !!.
I was giving suggestion assuming that your graphics card is installed in your PC and through HDMI cable it is connected to your AVR.Is not that case in your setup ?
Yes i am using hdmi directly to AVR. Yes Its connected with NVidia Graphics card GROFORCE 1650 -> hdmi out --> hdmi cable --> AVR

Here u mentioned that u have purchased gpu!!!

am i missing something from your chain of components ?

Let us know your pc setup and how are u using ?
My PC setup:

Intel I7 10th gen processor 10700k
NVidia Graphics card GROFORCE 1650
MSI mother board (dont remember model)
16 GB RAM
Windows 10 Pro OS
Media players : Kodi , MediaPlayer classic
No Sound card installed

My video is playing very cleanly , only thing is the sound is flat.
When i was watching the movie with same AVR settings with my old pc (which has dedicated sound card) it was sounding very good.
Not sure Sound card does improve overall sound quality here...

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy PCIe RX 7.1 Sound Card with High Performance Headphone Amp
The specs of these sound cards looks good - 122 db SNR ratio
supports upto : 32-bit / 44.1, 48.0, 88.2 96.0kHz

Not sure whether nvidia support similar specs .
 

reachkalyan.kr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
887
Points
63
Location
IN
The highs are not crisp , its sounding like old radio ...and there's less bass.


Yes i am using hdmi directly to AVR. Yes Its connected with NVidia Graphics card GROFORCE 1650 -> hdmi out --> hdmi cable --> AVR


My PC setup:

Intel I7 10th gen processor 10700k
NVidia Graphics card GROFORCE 1650
MSI mother board (dont remember model)
16 GB RAM
Windows 10 Pro OS
Media players : Kodi , MediaPlayer classic
No Sound card installed

My video is playing very cleanly , only thing is the sound is flat.
When i was watching the movie with same AVR settings with my old pc (which has dedicated sound card) it was sounding very good.
Not sure Sound card does improve overall sound quality here...

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy PCIe RX 7.1 Sound Card with High Performance Headphone Amp
The specs of these sound cards looks good - 122 db SNR ratio
supports upto : 32-bit / 44.1, 48.0, 88.2 96.0kHz

Not sure whether nvidia support similar specs .
Are you getting display as Atmos in your AVR/ while pressing info is it showing ATMOS in your TV/ Display/ Projector while playing ATMOS movie ?
I remember you mentioned somewhere that it is not showing as ATMOS ?!
 
Last edited:

edjamesx

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
575
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
Are you getting display as Atmos in your AVR/ while pressing info is it showing ATMOS in your TV/ Display/ Prjector while playing ATMOS movie ?
I remember you mentioned somewhere that it is not showing as ATMOS ?!
Yes .. Those issues already sorted out. The movie i was playing have DD sound . From AVR it displays DD correctly.
 

reachkalyan.kr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
887
Points
63
Location
IN
Yes .. Those issues already sorted out. The movie i was playing have DD sound . From AVR it displays DD correctly.
Few more details required may be other FM can also support.
1.Did u tried same movie in your old pc with Sound card ?as u mentioned that is good !!
2. Are these movies Audio Track are true DOLBY digital or converted one.
3.What about other sound Formats sound quality? Eg - DTS
4.Comparitively HDMI is suppose to be far superior than optical for HT purpose( if it is latest gen GPU) .What is your HDMI version of the video card ? Your hdmi cable is good?
5.Graphics card model u mentioned is correct?
i don't see such model exist as per ur info.
 

edjamesx

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
575
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
Few more details required may be other FM can also support.
1.Did u tried same movie in your old pc with Sound card ?as u mentioned that is good !!
Yes. I tried the same movie.
2. Are these movies Audio Track are true DOLBY digital or converted one.
3.What about other sound Formats sound quality? Eg - DTS
I am using mkv file. So it should be converted one.
DTS sound - is even more flat than DD.
Stereo sound even worst..
4.Comparitively HDMI is suppose to be far superior than optical for HT purpose( if it is latest gen GPU) .What is your HDMI version of the video card ? Your hdmi cable is good?
I am using good quality HDMI cable i believe. When i connect with Xbox one x with same hdmi cable / with same movie -- its sounding good.
Have selected bitstream out over hdmi in Xbox one x .
Seems to be the way nvidia sends the sound signature to be a issue. I could not find any other sound settings from nvidia control panel for sound to tweak it.
5.Graphics card model u mentioned is correct?
i don't see such model exist as per ur info.
Below is the link.
GEFORCE GTX 1650
 
Last edited:

reachkalyan.kr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
887
Points
63
Location
IN
Yes. I tried the same movie.

I am using mkv file. So it should be converted one.
DTS sound - is even more flat than DD.
Stereo sound even worst..

I am using good quality HDMI cable i believe. When i connect with Xbox one x with same hdmi cable / with same movie -- its sounding good.
Have selected bitstream out over hdmi in Xbox one x .
Seems to be the way nvidia sends the sound signature to be a issue. I could not find any other sound settings from nvidia control panel for sound to tweak it.

Below is the link.
GEFORCE GTX 1650
As per your inputs.
My Findings as follows.
Ur HDMI cable is good.
What is the size of the Video MKV file( Mb /Gb ).
As per the gpu model u mentioned, the spec of HDMI is 2.0b which is capable of handling the Audio bandwidth.
Your GPU purchased newly/ used one ?
Did u tried K lite Codecs / similar codecs installed?
i am not sure about ur mother board capability.
Share the kodi screen shots ( may be u can DM )
I am not looking at Nvidia control panel configuration here let it run as default settings .Possible take a note of your prefered settings and reset to default settings.
I strongly believe there is some configuration issues here.
 

edjamesx

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
575
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
As per your inputs.
My Findings as follows.
Ur HDMI cable is good.
What is the size of the Video MKV file( Mb /Gb ).
As per the gpu model u mentioned, the spec of HDMI is 2.0b which is capable of handling the Audio bandwidth.
Your GPU purchased newly/ used one ?
Did u tried K lite Codecs / similar codecs installed?
i am not sure about ur mother board capability.
Size of the video is 9GB.
The GPU is the newly purchased one.
K lite Codecs / similar codecs installed -- No . Kodi does not need these .
My mother board ; MSI - B460M-PRO-VDH

Kodi screen shots:/
kodi.png
kodi2.png

Sound Settings
denon-prop.PNG

denon-prop2.PNG
 

reachkalyan.kr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
887
Points
63
Location
IN
Change this standard to Expert mode and down to that allow pass thru select capable receiver model.There are about 5 - 6 models will be available to select according to your AVR model. kodi2.png
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,546
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
My old pc has s dedicated sound card which was sounding good.
May be yes. I have tried that way and compared with HDMI 5.1 sound. Spdf 5.1 out of same file sounds much cleaner , bigger and darker than HDMI. HDMI sounded little congested. I did change HDMI cable with better make and now sound is better. Still spdf sounds musical to me.
 

edjamesx

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
575
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
Change this standard to Expert mode and down to that allow pass thru select capable receiver model.There are about 5 - 6 models will be available to select according to your AVR model.
Yeah .. i selected all models now. The sound seems to be better , but still not like the spdif out from my old pc. Thanks for your suggestion. Will do more trials and if nothing works to my interest then probably will add pci sound card.

May be yes. I have tried that way and compared with HDMI 5.1 sound. Spdf 5.1 out of same file sounds much cleaner , bigger and darker than HDMI. HDMI sounded little congested. I did change HDMI cable with better make and now sound is better. Still spdf sounds musical to me.
Yeah .. i felt the same. I am planning to add Creative Sound Blaster Audigy PCIe RX 7.1 Sound Card with High Performance Headphone Amp to my PC. Will it be worth spending . It has many good specs like high snr ratio , high bit rates ..etc.
only -ve is , for Dolby atmos i need to feed through hdmi only.
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,546
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Will it be worth spending . It has many good specs like high snr ratio , high bit rates ..etc
I am using Asus Xonar D2X. Asus has few other cards in 6k range. Creative cards are known for gaming and uses different DAC chips. Not following newer cards though. Asus cards use Burbrown, Virus DAC chips which are used in CDp, AVR etc. Someone who has compared creative cards with other can tell how exactly they differ sonically.
 

edjamesx

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
575
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
I am using Asus Xonar D2X. Asus has few other cards in 6k range. Creative cards are known for gaming and uses different DAC chips. Not following newer cards though. Asus cards use Burbrown, Virus DAC chips which are used in CDp, AVR etc. Someone who has compared creative cards with other can tell how exactly they differ sonically.
My old pc have Asus sonar sound card , unfortunately spdif port is damaged , i could not reuse the sound card in my new pc. I have seen good reviews for these creative sound cards ..hence thought of trying out. I hope using sound card will be better any day in terms of sound quality.
 

Dwaipayan

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
4
Points
3
Location
Kolkata
My old pc have Asus sonar sound card , unfortunately spdif port is damaged , i could not reuse the sound card in my new pc. I have seen good reviews for these creative sound cards ..hence thought of trying out. I hope using sound card will be better any day in terms of sound quality.
The sound card software will actually add a layer of EQ (or post processing if you will) to the original source. This it why the end result may sound better to you. However, when you are bitstreaming, you are decoding the digital signal in your AVR without any post processing added. Ideally it is how the source was intended to sound like (much like the source direct mode in some amps and receivers), however everyone has their own preferences. You can probably get that additional oomph back by tweaking the EQ/Tone adjustments in your AVR and end up with a much better result that a PCIe sound card's output.
 

fLUX

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
967
Points
93
Location
Bangalore
My old pc have Asus sonar sound card , unfortunately spdif port is damaged , i could not reuse the sound card in my new pc. I have seen good reviews for these creative sound cards ..hence thought of trying out. I hope using sound card will be better any day in terms of sound quality.
Let me know if you are interested in picking up a xonar dx sound card. Letting go for 1k, in perfect working condition
 

Lifespill

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
3
Points
1
Location
Delhi
Using my Intel NUC (i3) and Gaming PC (GTX 1080ti) to successfully pass Atmos to my AVR. You need the Atmos App from the windows store to get Netflix (or PC Games) to work but I use Media Player Classic to bitstream locally stored content. No issues.
Hi!
I have NUC i5... Denon X4700 AVR.. I am just not able to get any video and audio using HDMI from PC to AVR. So using PC to TV and ARC from TV to AVR. But sound quality is not good this way. What display setting did you keep for the NUC display out and AVR settings?
 

sl4y3r

Active Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2012
Messages
282
Points
28
Location
Mumbai
Hi!
I have NUC i5... Denon X4700 AVR.. I am just not able to get any video and audio using HDMI from PC to AVR. So using PC to TV and ARC from TV to AVR. But sound quality is not good this way. What display setting did you keep for the NUC display out and AVR settings?
So you simply get no display when you connect the NUC to the AVR? No windows loading screen? Are you running windows 10 ?
 

Lifespill

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
3
Points
1
Location
Delhi
So you simply get no display when you connect the NUC to the AVR? No windows loading screen? Are you running windows 10 ?
Yes. No video. Scratchy Audio comes and goes but absolutely no Video. Yes Windows 10. I think it's display resolution issue between them.. What are your settings..
 

sl4y3r

Active Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2012
Messages
282
Points
28
Location
Mumbai
Yes. No video. Scratchy Audio comes and goes but absolutely no Video. Yes Windows 10. I think it's display resolution issue between them.. What are your settings..
Not sure what you mean by settings. I have a 1080p screen so my native resolution is 1080. Are you force settings a resolution or refresh rate?
 

f03nix

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
6
Points
1
Location
Chandigarh
The sound card software will actually add a layer of EQ (or post processing if you will) to the original source. This it why the end result may sound better to you. However, when you are bitstreaming, you are decoding the digital signal in your AVR without any post processing added
This is it. If you've checked audessy settings (dynamic eq / dynamic volume / surround params) are the same on hdmi vs spdif .. you just have to tweak the EQ yourself.
 
Top