• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Dual 1209 turntable

Beginner_N

Active Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
229
Likes
151
Points
43
Location
Pune
#1
Hi All,

I recently got hold of Dual 1209 turntable in working condition. It has broken plinth which I plan to build new, found plinth dimensions on web will be getting CNC cut. Anyone has Dual TT? any suggestions for me on use and maintenance?

Regards,
Beginner
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

jls001

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
5,693
Likes
3,405
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
#2
I have no experience with this model but like many vintage idler drive turntables, it will have a rather thin top plate but powerful motor. If you can design a heavy multi layered plinth in such a way that the sheet metal top plate gets the maximum support, it will drain away much of the vibration from the motor, taking it to a much higher performance class.

The other thing you can do in future is to install a better arm.
 

anilva

Moderator
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
1,156
Likes
975
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
#3
The other thing that I suggest changing are the RCA cables on DUAL. They get old and oxidized. You will do well to replace with a new high quality pair. Multilayer plinth is a great idea and ofcourse opting for a decent high compliance cartridge would be good too as DUAL arms are light weight for that series.

There are many DUAL owners on this forum including me (I have a DUAL 721 and 1019). You can get a ton of information on Vinyl Engine - The Home of the Turntable for DUALS.

Cheers
 

Beginner_N

Active Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
229
Likes
151
Points
43
Location
Pune
#4
Thank you! for such a quick response. I saw that it has 110V supply, do I need special step down or normal would suffice?

I read on one of the forum regarding replacing spring dampner with rubber pad. Is it a good idea?

Regards,
 

analogadikt

Active Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
198
Likes
227
Points
43
Location
Navi Mumbai
#5
European market Duals usually have 220/110 volt motors. The switch is on the connector block. You have to open it up and check. Read this to understand how to open it.
How to open Dual turntables for servicing - Vinyl Engine

In case it is 110 volts only motor, you need to confirm that the pully is 50Hz. A 60Hz pully shall cause it to run about 20% slow.

A stepdown transformer of minimum 25 watts is sufficient.

HTH
 

kuruvilajacob

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
1,170
Likes
1,111
Points
113
Location
Kottayam
#6
These Dual idler wheel turntables are very sturdy. They have usually quite thick idler wheel and very heavy platter and this leaves little room for rumble noise. I have two 1019 both with modified plinth and I have just bought a Dual 1229 also. I must say that these models especially the 1019 are going to be much sort after in future for modification. I do not have much experience with 1209.
 

reubensm

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
4,552
Likes
3,096
Points
113
Location
Trivandrum, India
#8
Congrats on your acquisition. Duals are great turntables, perhaps the most under-rated. They've also been often compared to their English cousins (Garrard). I've never owned one but have heard many. Great sounding tables. The only niggle I though was their non-standard headshells. Our neighbour had an old Dual. Helped him restore it and sell it off. I've found their auto mechanism to be quite troublesome, needs accurate calibration to function properly. I may sound a bit biased here but Garrard's auto mechanisms perhaps are a bit more reliable.
 

Beginner_N

Active Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
229
Likes
151
Points
43
Location
Pune
#9
Hi all,

Need some help. I opened mains connector box, buts wasnt able to figure how to make connections for 220V. It has diagram inside showing 110V and 220V. But never done it so completely lost :)

Thanks,
Nishant
 

SacheenM

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2016
Messages
7
Likes
7
Points
3
Location
Nagpur
#10
Hope you have resolved your issues with Dual 1229 by now.
If not let me know. Will help you.
 
SPONSORED ADS

Beginner_N

Active Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
229
Likes
151
Points
43
Location
Pune
#11
Hope you have resolved your issues with Dual 1229 by now.
If not let me know. Will help you.
Thanks Sacheen!

I am working on Plinth done with cutting now pasting work pending.

I need help in converting 110V to 220V there is diagram available on box but I dont have clue of electrical diagram.

Regards,
Nishant
 

jls001

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
5,693
Likes
3,405
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
#12
I need help in converting 110V to 220V there is diagram available on box but I dont have clue of electrical diagram.

Regards,
Nishant
Do post pictures of the power connection diagram and the photo of the actual power tag block.
 

wishihadtubes

Active Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
244
Likes
141
Points
43
Location
New Delhi
#13
I have a Dual 701 which I picked up abroad for a song but it isn't in a working condition. However, it looks to be in good shape and can possibly be restored. It was at one time reputed to be the world's quietest turntable.

There is a guy in the US who fixes Duals and I was in touch with him but it would be quite a hassle for me to send the TT to him for repairs and it'd also cost me a bomb.

Can anybody help with this one?

Cheers
 

jls001

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
5,693
Likes
3,405
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
#15
The second picture shows how to wire the voltage for 220V operation by shifting the yellow wire from pin 5 to 6.

Do you see a pin number 6 on the first picture? If you identify pin 6, it looks like a simple matter of unscrewing the yellow wire from pin 5 and plugging it to pin 6.

If you're not confident, you could take it to a local electronics repair person to crosscheck, and make the change for you.
 

quad

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
800
Likes
544
Points
93
Location
Hyderabad
#16
Those Dual connection boxes are usually tight and hard to work with.

There is a little trick to removing those wires from the connection
box without damaging the pins. Insert/loop a very thin
wire (old transformer/magent wire) under the connector and use that
to gently pull it up the pin. You may have to press down on the pin
with a finger while pulling the connector up.
Be very careful not to apply side pressure to the plastic divider walls
between terminals or you will break the plastic switch box

Also it is safer to replace that capacitor. A .01uf 630V or 1000V film cap
should work.
 
Last edited:
SPONSORED ADS

Top