Hi Five!

Anand A

Hello audiophiles, my name is Anand. Have been a lurker in these forum for a while and finally decided to create an account and seek guidance from the community here. I am a noob to the world of sound, who is honestly overwhelmed with the vocabulary and technicalities that I keep hearing. I have pieced together a modest equipment consisting of a vintage Rotal 412 Amplifier, older than me, and two Tannoy floorstanders (which doesn’t have the original tannoy speakers though- something I realised after a long time after picking it up on Olx) and I stream audio through a Chromecast Audio device. As u can obviously see, can’t even qualify myself as an audiophile yet, but honestly I fell in love with the sound produced by the Rotel which put my Yamaha AVR to shame, and then I started reading about the HiFi world more. So finally here I’m. Ready to explore more of this rabbit hole. Today I might also be receiving my first serious DAC - a Schiit Modi 3E. So good times ahead I suppose!

Welcome Anand to the world of Hifi. being an audiophile is not about what gear you have but and understanding and appreciation of how the synergies between the room and components can be maximised to get the best sound. Its also about appreciating and celebrating good sound and for that the most "expensive" thing is time taken to educate and setup than money spent !

Do post a picture of the Tannoys.

The Rotel you have is from the 70s which was still a time components were designed well and the brand was doing very well as well. so am sure you are on a good track.

Thanks a bunch for the kind words and assurance. This is what’s left of the Tannoy. Original speakers are replaced with Atone R150s

Attachments

• IMG_5801.jpeg
    IMG_5801.jpeg
    83.2 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_5800.jpeg
    IMG_5800.jpeg
    129.7 KB · Views: 29