Hindi Film Music cd mastering

prem

I read a lot of posts here which mention the poor sound quality of Hindi film cds. The ones i picked up in the recent past like Guru, Jodha Akbar, Taare Zameen Par and Jaane Tu Jaane Na have been very good. Excellent mastering. Great sound quality. Lows are good. Highs are sweet. Midrange is excellent. My system is fairly high end and very revealing. So i am very surprised there are so many negative statements about quality of Hindi film cds.

I am doing a lot of research on this and will be posting a detailed message in a few days. This will cover mostly DVD mastering, but will also show what equipment is used in India.

Hi Prem and Venkat
First all i am a novice comparing many of you ove here and nor do i have a high end system
When many of us have said that quality of Hindi audio cds (specially movie music) is not that good, it did not mean all. I guess there are some exceptions. But still I would say there wont be many which will be like A grade. Not bad but not the best.
Non Bollywood music like albums by Midival Punditz, Indian Ocean are quiet good. Note that I dont listen to classical music so i cant judge, but there are many of you who listen to, so you can compare the quality of those cds with Bollywood music cds
I will give a simple example of audio cd of KAHO NA PYAR HAI. I have not liked the recording at all. But then some like Lagaan are very well recorded. I remember reading somewhere that Amir Khan rejected the master copy of the music of Taare Zameen Par as he was not satisfied with the quality. So i feel it all depends upon the producer, music director, director of the movie upon what quality they are demanding.
There may be equipment in india to make the best sounding audio cds and super quality DVDs but then its upon the makers of the movie as to what they opt for