My experience with equipment Isolation and final implementation plan

Hari Iyer

I have been working with equipment isolation for the past 2 years and after analyzing various methods for different gears will be finally settling down with implementing what worked best for me. I believe that isolation has two major components to be addressed - mass and spring to have better vibration control. IMO achieving isolation on all the three axes will be difficult if not impossible. I have plan to isolate the following components in my chain with final implementation -

1. Blueray Player - I have tried to keep this player on top of a spring loaded table and found good results with them. But i shall finally use my own diy roller ball and will add a granite slab on top of the roller ball for the mass part. I shall add a bicycle tube on top of the granite and inflate them around 50% and keep a wooden block on top of the bicycle tube. This is for the spring part. Will keep the Blue-ray player on top of the wooden plank.

2. Tube amplifier - This will be similar to the Blueray play with no changes. Instead of the roller ball will add spikes on which the granite will rest.

3. Turntable - I initally used my diy roller ball and found that to be not suitable for turntable. The turntable is a suspension type and already has the springs in them for the platter suspension. So adding one more spring will cancel the effect. So i am planning to remove the stock feet and replace them with a platic spike type feet to make it a low compliance but not rubbery feet. Spikes could have been added but i found the plastic feet to do the job better than the spikes and it offers a very low compliant solution.

Currently too many other things are happening in parallel and will start this after a month or two and post images once completed.