My Speaker System

Ravindra Desai

Hello All,

In continuation to my posts My Digital Audio Processor and My Audio Amplifier, kindly find My Speaker System in this thread.
It is hand made from 11mm MDF pasted with black laminate.
It was designed with robust built in mind that should survive the Indian Courier system. I am not very good with aesthetics as I am with electronics design. But here it is for your comments:

For 2.1CH Surround:
1 x Dual Speaker Center
2 x Single Speaker Surrounds
1 x Single speaker sub-woofer,
1 x Ampli-decoder.

For 2.1CH Stereo
2 x Dual Speaker Center
1 x Ampli-decoder.

For 2.1CH Surround/ Stereo:
3 x Dual Speaker Center
2 x Single Speaker Surrounds
1 x Ampli-decoder.

Note that the last configuration uses a switch to change the configuration from stereo to surround and vice versa.

Also note that the Ampli-decoder can be programmed to support 2.0 Stereo also in which case two tower or book shelf speakers would be needed.

Let me know what you think.

Thanks in advance!!

Ravindra.

Attachments

• 1. Surround Sound Set.JPG
    1. Surround Sound Set.JPG
    73.2 KB · Views: 349
  • 2. Surround Speaker- Side View.JPG
    2. Surround Speaker- Side View.JPG
    75.5 KB · Views: 347
  • 5. Surround Speaker- Back View.JPG
    5. Surround Speaker- Back View.JPG
    109.4 KB · Views: 315
Cool. Looks Gothic. Can you give some more details about them? What drivers are those? are those tweeters in the center?

Hello Tuff,

Satellites are 3" full-range with fabric roll surround
Subwoofer is 8" driver in a sealed enclosure. The driver has rubber roll surround.
Drivers are made by iWai.

I don't use tweeters. So I don't have to deal with cross-over networks.
My two-way stereo enclosures also use these speakers. 2 x 3" + 1 x 8" per enclosure.
In a two way system, I use 4 amplifier channels: one each for LLo, Lhi, RLo and RHi.

Regards,

Ravindra.