• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Oppo Voltage issue

Wharfedale Linton Heritage Speakers

razaa

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
25
Points
0
Location
Bangalore
Hi,

I am going to purchase Oppo DVDp in US through my friend. My friend in US told that only 110 voltage is available there. Any converter is there to suitable to our country. Or I have to advice him to purchase only 210 voltage oppo product.

Please advice me
 

suprateep

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
1,103
Points
0
Location
Chicago
Hi,

I am going to purchase Oppo DVDp in US through my friend. My friend in US told that only 110 voltage is available there. Any converter is there to suitable to our country. Or I have to advice him to purchase only 210 voltage oppo product.

Please advice me


oppo dvd player 980 does have the option of dual voltage switching or is capable of 110-230v input. Please check the specs online or get a step down transformer.
 

moserw

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
3,288
Points
0
Location
Depends...
Hi,

I am going to purchase Oppo DVDp in US through my friend. My friend in US told that only 110 voltage is available there. Any converter is there to suitable to our country. Or I have to advice him to purchase only 210 voltage oppo product.

Please advice me

All Oppo products come with Power Supply of 100V 240V, 50/60Hz so it will work without a hitch.
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,560
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Thanks for info,

But American other products like AVR doesnt come with both options.Manufacturer to produce things with US compatibility.
US peaple need different options than other countries?:rolleyes:
 

venkatcr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Messages
7,315
Points
113
Location
Chennai
I got a rev of oppo 980 in which you can see back panal where AC in section states 100v to 240v, there is no swich like on AVR.How?

Most large manufacturers manufacture three version of the same product - one for US, one for Europe and one of Asia. If you see the web sites this will be reflected. When you make a product for a particular region, you save money by localising as much as possible.

Oppo has only a single production line and makes for the whole world. That is why they have that dual transformer option.

Rev is informative ,but doesnt say which DACs are onbrd.

You really are obsessed with DACs are you not? Spiro, please understand just a DAC is not going to create any magic for you. If you also remember in a early post from you, I had mentioned that the specs of DACs chips from companies such as Burr Brown, TI, etc., will be very close to each other. Ultimately it becomes a question of implementation.

Cheers
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,560
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Oppo has only a single production line and makes for the whole world. That is why they have that dual transformer option.

OK,but there is no switch visible,when you say dual transformer ,switch must be there like on Onkyo AVR,what abt your 983,is there any switch?

You really are obsessed with DACs are you not?

Just curious abt chips & circuitry:eek:hyeah:
 

venkatcr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Messages
7,315
Points
113
Location
Chennai
Onkyo AVR,what abt your 983,is there any switch?

As Vaishnav said, the 983 has a universal power supply (such as those found on mobile chargers) that can take any voltage from 100 to 240 and 50/60 Hz. There is no switch.

Cheers
 
Top