• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Power fluctuations in chennai

  • Thread starter Deleted member 38504
  • Start date
Wharfedale Diamond 11.1 & 11.2 Speakers
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
Chennai members, your help again please.

In my living room I have a stereo setup comprising of my TT, CD player and stereo amp connected to my tannoys.
In my HT room, I have a 55” tv setup to a 7.1 system.

Where I live we have power backup installed by the society itself in Hiranandani.

However to protect my equipment from damage, what can I install in my home?

In the pic I have attached, you can see on the left wall is where the CB panel is (with the flap open). Just before that, on the left side, there is a nice depression in the wall, where I can install the power equipment and have it in a cabinet so that it’s not seen to people and that it looks neat and tidy.

Guide me as to what I need. Specific to chennai.

Thanks again.

804046F2-F9FB-4604-B97A-ECFAAACDDADA.jpeg
 

indy70

Active Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
350
Points
28
Location
Chennai
Try to get a good 1KVA UPS with Surge. I got the APC BR1000G recently. You can check for similar models on Amazon. It has 6 outlets and should be good enough to connect your equipments.
 
Upvote 0

elangoas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
7,536
Points
113
Location
Madrasapattinam
Where I live we have power backup installed by the society itself in Hiranandani.

So i believe, there isn't a need for an inverter.. Check with society technician, if the backup already provides stabilized power output..

However to protect my equipment from damage, what can I install in my home?

All you would need is a stabiliser.. Pick the one that is usually matched with a 1 / 1.5 ton A/c.. Around 4KVA and 15 Amps.. Shouldn't cost more than 5K maxx.. Should provide stabilized output for all your A/V equipment in different rooms..
 
Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
All the 6 ac units are going to have individual stabilizors.

Spoke to the technician in Hiranandani. The backup is generator backup which only provides power to lights, fans, fridge and one tv in living room. He recommends getting a UPS.
 
Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
Try to get a good 1KVA UPS with Surge. I got the APC BR1000G recently. You can check for similar models on Amazon. It has 6 outlets and should be good enough to connect your equipments.
Does it have to be kept near the amp, CD player etc? Or can it be kept where I said, in the pic above, connected directly to the cb board?
 
Upvote 0

efernand1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
5,513
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Oh ...partial backup........you definitely need a good UPS.....so get something that can drive the total load .....
 
Upvote 0

elangoas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
7,536
Points
113
Location
Madrasapattinam
All the 6 ac units are going to have individual stabilizors.

Spoke to the technician in Hiranandani. The backup is generator backup which only provides power to lights, fans, fridge and one tv in living room. He recommends getting a UPS.

Then i guess you are better of with a whole house UPS + stabiliser in the place where you like them.. May be 8.5 KVA (or) more..

Assuming not all the A/C will be fully functional all the time, it should be fine..

I recently picked a 8KVA used stabiliser from a chennai FM as the voltage is my rural area is really bad.. (Hovers between 160 ~ 180).. The stabilised output (220V) is excellent and never seen my fan (or) exhaust spinning so fast :D..
 
Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 38504

Guest
Thanks elango, how would I setup this? I mean who can guide me on what I need and how and where to setup this completely?
 
Upvote 0

elangoas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
7,536
Points
113
Location
Madrasapattinam
Thanks elango, how would I setup this? I mean who can guide me on what I need and how and where to setup this completely?

No worries.. I will check with my friends for a reliable contact who have done it at their home and will pass it on to you.. The technician should be able to visit your location and suggest you accordingly..
 
Upvote 0

Indranil Sen

Active Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
167
Points
28
Location
USA
Celester340- The other choice would be to install a power transformer, preferably balanced, or equivalent power isolation product which has an inbuilt stabilizer. But as i mentioned before you have to be really careful to ensure that it doesn't end up degrading the sound quality/performance.
Thanks.
 
Upvote 0

indy70

Active Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
350
Points
28
Location
Chennai
Does it have to be kept near the amp, CD player etc? Or can it be kept where I said, in the pic above, connected directly to the cb board?
Yes , it acts as a surge protector also. So you have to connect the UPS to main and your devices to this UPS.
 
Upvote 0

Naturelover

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
4,218
Points
113
Location
Nagpur
I do feel your equipment deserves something like the Vertex. Many FMs are using it including me.
And they are Chennai based to boot :)
 
Upvote 0

Naturelover

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
4,218
Points
113
Location
Nagpur
Hi, can u please mention the model number and the price of the servo? Thanks
Below is from their mail. This was 5 years back so mentioning price will not have much meaning. Contact them at vertexpower.co.in

2 kVA VERTEX Servo Stabiliser Microcontroller Based
Features:
a. Input range - 170 V - 270 V
b. Output - 230 V +/- 1%
c. Electronic Under / Over voltage cutoff
d. Electronic Overload cutoff
e. Built-in Double Stage EMI / RFI filter & Spike Suppressor (MOV)
f. LCD display - Reads I/P & O/P voltages / Output Current / Frequency
g. Input - 4 sq mm Cable. Output Sockets - 5 A - 4 nos
h. Warranty - 1 Year
 
Upvote 0

newlash09

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
1,053
Points
113
Location
hyderabad
Hi Celester...I have fluctuations at my place too. And after much consultation in this forum and elsewhere, I have been recommended the below set of equipment.

1. CVT of 6 kVA to be mounted externally near the main power cabinet for the audio room. - best qouted price so far is 47k

2. Isolation transformer of 2 kVA each for each amp and source - each price is 7k
 
Upvote 0
Top