• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

[Q] Route stereo sound through all speakers in 5.1 setup

Mogami Cables

shyamsn00

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
11
Points
0
Location
Coimbatore
How to route 2 channel sound [a la music] through all 5 satellites of a 5.1 system [preferably mapping the left and right channels to both the left and right speakers respectively, and both channels to the center speaker]? I remember using a software that came with my motherboard that did this, but can't remember the name.
 

devilwearsprada

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
283
Points
43
Location
Rock Am Ring '09
In Case you just want the sound coming from all the speakers, you could select an all channel stereo mode(if present), or else you can go Pro-Logic or Neo.

In case, you want to go for channel mapping, Media Encoder can do that, but you need to tweak the crossover and range settings, I Would highly discourage it, as it kills the sound and does not give you a 5.1 effect, in case you are trying to achieve that, the sub wont pick up frequencies from a mapped channel.
-Peace-
 

shyamsn00

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
11
Points
0
Location
Coimbatore
Sorry I usd the term "channel mapping". I only want the sound coming from all speakers. I do not find an all-channel stereo mode in Windows' sound settings.

What do Pro Logic and Neo do here? [what are they, basically?!]
 

shibashis

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
1,027
Points
83
Location
Kolkata
These depend on your on-board sound card's utilities, if you have additional sound card then it is much better for such effects but the on-board sound card will provide the same functionality, look through carefully on the sound card's driver-utility software.
Be sure to set your system up as true 5.1 from Windows control panel (Control panel -> Hardware and Sound -> Speakers -> Configure) otherwise it may not work.
Pro-logic and Neo are Dolby standards which 'upmix' 2 channel audio source and provide a 'virtual' 5.1 output through all channels, once again this will have to be supported by your sound card.
 

baijuxavior

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
4,623
Points
113
Location
Kerala
Dolby Prologic and DTS Neo6 are algorithms used for converting stereo sound to a pseudo 5.1. In your case use a player like KMPlayer that can convert stereo to virtual 5.1. Also set your playback devices to 5.1 in Windows sound control panel.
 

shyamsn00

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
11
Points
0
Location
Coimbatore
I have set up 5.1 in Windows settings, and also found the software that came with my motherboard. I have this option called Speaker Fill that says it will do the same. Is this the same as using Dolby Pro Logic or does using Dolby or Neo enhances the surround effect?
 

baijuxavior

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
4,623
Points
113
Location
Kerala
Dolby Prologic will be better for surround conversion. I don't know if DTS Neo is available in players.
 

shibashis

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
1,027
Points
83
Location
Kolkata
Diolby pro-logic is a much advanced algorithm than just 'upscaling' 2 channel audio and hence as mentioned by Baiju will be much better.
Do you know your motherboard model number? That way you could get more details of its audio capabilities.
 

shyamsn00

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
11
Points
0
Location
Coimbatore
ASUS M4A88T-M/USB3

Its audio specs:

VIA VT1708S 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
- Supports : Jack-detection, Multi-streaming, Front Panel Jack-retasking
Audio Feature :
- Optical S/PDIF out port(s) at back panel
 

manniraj

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
2,795
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Sorry I usd the term "channel mapping". I only want the sound coming from all speakers. I do not find an all-channel stereo mode in Windows' sound settings.

What do Pro Logic and Neo do here? [what are they, basically?!]

Use foobar2000 there is an option under the DSP setting to pass sound as 4 channel. I think there is also option under the XBMC to make stereo sound output in all the speakers.

Thanks
 

shyamsn00

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
11
Points
0
Location
Coimbatore
Uhh, I don't really want to change media players for this, the option with the driver suits just fine, and can extend to more than just audio.
 

shyamsn00

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
11
Points
0
Location
Coimbatore
ASUS M4A88T-M/USB3
AMD Phenom II X4 840 3.2 GHz
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1 TB
2x 4 GB DDR3 1333 MHz Dual channel
MSI R6850 Cyclone 1GD5 Power Edition/OC
 

spirovious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
12,533
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Your MB has 8ch analog out & spdf headerl too.Also HDMI out.So you have 3 options-
1.Connect multi channel analog out to similar amp.
2.spdf onboard output to AVR which can output 5.1(prologic/Neo etc)
3.Connect with HDMI & let AVR do the rest.
 
Top