Sharing A Folder On Synology NAS

terrible

Though I own a DS916+ I am a complete noob when it comes to networking. I am learning on the fly as requirement crops. Currently my NAS serves my entertainment needs in the house and seldom outside home through Quickconnect. I own a small film production company and would like my finance guy to access this NAS for book-keeping.

Now, I have created a new user account for him, as well as a new shared folder, and has access to this folder and nothing else on the NAS. Now in this current setup, he can access files if I was to put any through the internal network at home. The question is how does he put files in this folder? This account on NAS has been created for him to behave as a secure storage. Would be nice to get some suggestions on this.

PS: If this requires that I port forward my NAS, I am unable to do so. The last resort left is to pick my conversation with sam on another thread, which I will do as I have sometime now. I will also try the 'Layer 2 Switch Trick' I discovered on the net, provided I truly understand what it is.

Ok there are a couple of ways you can do this, but before that, I would like to ask, I think you did manage to be able port fw,....right!,... coz I read in that other thread you mentioned that you were able to port fw plex port 32400 and managed to access it from outside. ??

Now coming to your issue, is book keeping is the only reason you want the acess to be provided. I am thinking an alternativve solution that would be easy to setup. Use google drive. Create a folder, and share it with him (assuming he has a google account if he does not create one for him).