Shopping advice for a NOOB

gmiller_79

Hello all! I have been having this overwhelming urge to build a turntable, hifi system and have just started the process. I am brand new to the vinyl world but something is calling me to it. I think it's that I want to really connect with my favorite music and make an actual experience out of listening. Anyway,

I have already ordered a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon and a Pro-Ject phono box. I have a budget of 1,000 to 1200 for the system and I am really just trying to get the best listening experience for the money. I'm torn between powered or passive speakers...If I get passive, I think I want Wharfedale Diamond 220 speakers but I don't know what kind of amp to get for them. I love the look of a tube amp but I don't think I'll get a really good one in my budget.

Or, I could get powered speakers which I just don't like the idea of for some reason. If you guys know of some really good ones I would love a recommendation. Thank you so much for being here for people who need the help! :)

Hello Gmiller,

Welcome to the Forum. You are in HIFI Paradise :) So thats the problem too, Since you have too much choice to decide.

I dont know much about the LP\Turntables (Yet to have once for me). But you could provide your Room size, Your fav Music Genre . This gives a clear idea for suggestion.

If you have Good Collection of LP\EP's then go with a Tube amp and nice Full range drivers.

Welcome to our forum. You are truly living in one of the beautiful parts of the US of A. With all due respect, you make your hifi purchase sound like ordering food from a take-away joint :)

If only it were that simple!!