Starting a new speaker design: unusual 4-way

tcpip

After reading a lot on various forums, and thinking and talking a lot about it, I decided to kick off a new design, new and different for me in many ways. I'm sure I'll learn a lot from it.

Firstly, it's a 4-way. I've never done a 4-way design before. And since it'll be a passive crossover, it's going to make me stretch whatever little I know about crossover design and speaker measurements.

Secondly, it'll be lower order crossovers. I'm currently toying with the idea of 2nd order slopes. I may even try 1st order on some of the crossover points. 4-way design means three crossover points, so I have a lot of points to pick and choose from.

Thirdly, as a consequence of the shallow slopes, I'm choosing drivers by the smoothness of their SPL curves above all else. This means that I'm ignoring distortion behaviour and all other attributes of the drivers.

Fourthly, this will be the first time I'll experiment with stepped baffles. Let's see what the combination of multiple-way, shallow slopes and stepped baffles gives me.

Fifth, I am thinking of some weird enclosure experiments for the midrange drivers -- I'll make their chambers neither sealed nor open at the back. I'm thinking of trying wide-diameter PVC tubes on the rear wall of their chambers, like ducted ports, except that they'll be fairly tightly filled with Polyfill type fibre to absorb the back wave. The aim is to neither reflect the rear wave, nor allow it to emerge at the rear -- just absorb it. Will it work? Who the hell knows? But it'll be great if it does work.