Starting off in DIY

stereorules

I am a total newbie in the world of DIY....Ultimately, I want to build my own amp..thats my goal...So am looking for help from guys in Hyd...am a total beginner..have never soldered although I did have an iron once...Had always wanted to get into hobby electronics but thats been an unfulfilled dream ...at least till now and now, I finally want to start off my journey...

Any Hyd members who can help me ....All help would be appreciated..Incidentally, I have started reading up from here :

Elliott Sound Products - DIY Audio Articles

A very good site and very informative...Have also started reading up 'Getting started in electronics' by Forrest M. Mims .. Any advice wud be appreciated...

Building an amp will require basic electronics skills. Nevermind if you ve not had that all this while. You will find plenty of information on what you are trying to build on the forums and net. Rod's site is an excellent start too.

The only problem has been availability of good components in the local market. Nevertheless, Vegakit has some TDA2030 amp boards that you could use as a start. These are available at Roland electronics, Koti. If all goes well, you could go for something bigger and better next time. Its fun to toy around and learn.

I too am currently in the same city and on my way to build some good amps and something more.

Welcome to DIY.

Regards,
Goldy

Hi

You can take the first tentative steps into DIY buy reading the thread on group buy of mauro penasa DIY kits posted by linuxguru. Then if you are convinced, you can opt in for a kit.

Rgds

Rajesh

+1 to what Rajesh recommends-good way to make a start. Then for the speakers, then the sub, then the DAC, then the source, then the cables, then...

Hi stereorules,