• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Subwoofer needed.

Wharfedale Evo 4.2

hseplak

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
160
Points
18
Location
mumbai
Hi,
I have marantz pm 6004 and wharfedale 10.2 speakers setup and I want to connect a sub.My question is Can I connect a sub in first place and if so how to go ahead with it??
Thanks in advance.
 

tuff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
1,983
Points
113
Location
Thane
If you get a sub with high level inputs, it should work fine.
Could you state a ballpark budget, your room size and what type of music you listen to, forum members can suggest a few.
 

hseplak

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
160
Points
18
Location
mumbai
Hi,
Room size 10h15l10w,... music I like all from latest to 80s 90s , basically I have lots of CDs , which I play on cd 6004 , budget 25to 35k .
Thanks
 

efernand1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
5,127
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Here you go.....read the specs each before you contact to check if it suits your requirement







Please audition and take a call.....negotiate where you can
 

hseplak

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
160
Points
18
Location
mumbai
Hi,
After searching for subs I found that nowadays subs don't come with speaker level inputs,So how do I connect my amplifier??,a suggestion by a salesman at an audio outlet told me that you can connect the sub to CDR(recorder)out of the amp,i want to confirm with our fms.
Thanks.
 

tuff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
1,983
Points
113
Location
Thane
One way is to connect it to the tape out but you will have to use the subwoofers volume to adjust, but may be not a practical solution.
 

efernand1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
5,127
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Hi,
After searching for subs I found that nowadays subs don't come with speaker level inputs,So how do I connect my amplifier??,a suggestion by a salesman at an audio outlet told me that you can connect the sub to CDR(recorder)out of the amp,i want to confirm with our fms.
Thanks.
It is not a practical option....you can get some humm etc.......I have suggested some OLX pre owned ones which have Speaker inputs
 

efernand1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
5,127
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Connection is done through speaker High level inputs ...


Wires from Speakers B to the Sub.....
 

Vinay2013

Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2013
Messages
512
Points
43
Location
Gurgaon
Okay. Speaker B output of Marantz to Subwoofer's speaker level connection? Will it bypass sub's amp or will use both the amps at the same time.

Also speakers will get full range but sub's crossover will be used for low frequencies. Right? Won't it cause some sort of distortion? Also, when volume is changed sub volume may also required to be adjusted?

Just wanted to understand how it works.
 

hseplak

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
160
Points
18
Location
mumbai
Hi,
To address the above query,No I did not put sub on B but both speakers and sub on terminal A of amp , this according to the specific advice of designer audio owner, works fine this way, fms can throw more light on the matter. thanks
 

tuff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
1,983
Points
113
Location
Thane
Okay. Speaker B output of Marantz to Subwoofer's speaker level connection? Will it bypass sub's amp or will use both the amps at the same time.

Also speakers will get full range but sub's crossover will be used for low frequencies. Right? Won't it cause some sort of distortion? Also, when volume is changed sub volume may also required to be adjusted?

Just wanted to understand how it works.
Speaker level connections should go from amp A (output) to the sub woofer and from the sub to speakers. This way, the subwoofer's crossover will decide what frequencies should be sent to the speakers. And no, it will not use the amplifier's power to drive the sub, regardless whether you use A or B output. The volume on both speakers and the sub will change at the same time.
 

Vinay2013

Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2013
Messages
512
Points
43
Location
Gurgaon
Speaker level connections should go from amp A (output) to the sub woofer and from the sub to speakers. This way, the subwoofer's crossover will decide what frequencies should be sent to the speakers. And no, it will not use the amplifier's power to drive the sub, regardless whether you use A or B output. The volume on both speakers and the sub will change at the same time.
Yes. I think this is the right approach but the way OP connected this, may distort the sound. Not sure if his subwoofer has this option.
 

JayaRaa

Active Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
856
Points
43
Location
India
Be careful as this method is not very good for the amp, especially if you have loose connection, resulting in shorting. Keep checking whether amp heats up as well.
 
Top