Sun Direct HDTV

snbad

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
21
Points
0
Location
bangalore
hi,

I found that sun direct is having HD broadcast.

Sun Direct HD

Has anyone subscribed to this service. please share your experience.
like, How many HD channels are there now? what is the quality? etc

thanks
 

BLASTO

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
3,659
Points
113
Location
Hyderabad
hi,

I found that sun direct is having HD broadcast.

Sun Direct HD

Has anyone subscribed to this service. please share your experience.
like, How many HD channels are there now? what is the quality? etc

thanks

They current have Nat Geo HD and that is all.

There are also 2 more 'proprietary' movie channels which telecasts movies not of your choice. I remember the good old days of local cable tv which telecasted 2 movies per day. How far have we come.. :rolleyes:
 

jbgude

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
415
Points
28
Location
Edge of reality
There seems to be another thread on Sun HD - moderator can you please consolidate the threads ? Thanks

Anyone here who views these HD channels - how much do they cost per month ? Thanks
 

pmenon_a

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
1
Points
0
Location
India
Hi all,

Sun Direct HD has started HD broadcasting with National Geographic Channel, Colours, Sun Tv & Regional Movie Service all in HD along with Metro Pack.

Cartoon Network and Utv World Movies are coming soon.

its available at the price of Rs.9990 with one year Metro & HD pack inclusive of activation and installation charges.

for more details visit Sun Direct HD

regards,
 

chirag007

Active Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
215
Points
28
Location
Near Marthahalli, Bangalore
this package is around for quite some time now. We should expect other content provider to pitch in to create competetion and reduce prices further.

btw, not all broadcasting programs in given HD channels are HD. Some programs might be up scaled. And in that case we really have to dig-in what kind of up-scaling chips/technology is used for that.
 

musicmypassion

Active Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
162
Points
28
Location
Kerala - Trivandrum/Kochi
I belive in order to get the accurate PQ in HD, the programs should be shot using HD Cameras. The programs captured using non HD cameras will have to undergo some kinda upscaling to make them HD broadcast-able.
 

anilva

Moderator
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
1,156
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
I tried very hard to get a HD connection from Sun Direct, but they were absolutely not interested. Will try some time later if they add more channels.

Cheers.
 
Wharfedale Linton Heritage Speakers in Red Mahogany finish at a Special Offer Price. BUY now before the price increase.
Top