Tatasky digicomp electric shock?

Audiolab 6000CDT Dedicated CD Transport

Kamal

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
721
Points
43
Location
New Delhi
Hi Shapra,this appears to be an issue with your unit-I've had one since Dec 06 & have'nt experienced such nasties so far.
Plz get after Tata Sky to repair/replace your unit.
 

rikhav

Well-Known Member
HFV Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
2,546
Points
113
Does anyone have this issue? The Digicomp comes with a 2 pin plug. When you touch the unit, you can experience a shock. Any help is appreciated.

Here's oen case published in the papers: The Tribune, Chandigarh, India - Haryana Plus

The issue is with earthing, as they have not provided a 3 pin plug. I have experienced this many times when i accidently touch the TATASKY unit, but the shock was very very mild.
I am not sure if this has anything to do with humidity, but i have kept the box in such a way that no one could touch it accidently.
 
Last edited:

Kamal

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
721
Points
43
Location
New Delhi
I'd say the issue is re leakage to the chassis due to some fault.The article also said that the TS repair guys tried to run a wire connected to the units body to the earth point but it did'nt work.
The best bet is to get them to fix it-till such time, don't touch it use the remote & the power point switch to turn it on /off.
 

rikhav

Well-Known Member
HFV Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
2,546
Points
113
I'd say the issue is re leakage to the chassis due to some fault.The article also said that the TS repair guys tried to run a wire connected to the units body to the earth point but it did'nt work.
The best bet is to get them to fix it-till such time, don't touch it use the remote & the power point switch to turn it on /off.

Hello Kamal Bhai,
I do the same, operate it from the remote and switch it off directly from the main switch.
 

shapra

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
8
Points
0
Thanks for the replies. I am just concerned my very naughty toddlers may touch it. My electrician says two-pin plugs always have this issue.

I will see if TataSky can do something and post updates here.
 

Rajiv

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,203
Points
113
Location
Chennai
Hi

I too had this problem, but it was not with the Tata Box,it was from the DVD player. The Audio/Video cables connecting the units to the TV were carrying this leakage current to the Tata Box.


Disconnect the DVD from the mains and check if you still get a shock.

I ran a wire from the body of the DVD player to the mains earth point and the problem went away.

Many of the DVD players using two pin plugs and cheap SMPS power supplies have this problem.
Regards
Rajiv
 

Kamal

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
721
Points
43
Location
New Delhi
Re the naughty toddlers,plz keep the unit well out of their reach.
Even after you get the prob fixed, any electrical eqpt should be kept out of the way of the lil'uns as a prudent practice.
BTW, do you have an ELCB in your main breaker line?
If not, plz do so-its a great protection agnst electrical shocks
 
Top