Tube Light

coaltrain

First, an honest confession: While I've been using solid state amps for over 25 years now, I've been fascinated with tube gear ever since I heard their magic many moons ago. Often, I would find myself fantasizing about the ultimate indulgence: 2 hifi setups, one tube and one solid state! That would seem like the only way to enjoy the best of both worlds. Until now...

I've recently discovered something called a 'Hybrid Tube Amp': an integrated amp with a tube preamp coupled to a solid state power amp section. I'm aware that many use this technique with separates like the Acoustic Portrait pre/power combo, but I hadn't come across this in an integrated before.

Enter the Pathos Classic One MkIII.

I chanced upon this amp while checking out their top-of-the-line Twin Towers integrated. (Purely out of curiosity. Like all Italian beauties, the TT is bloody expensive!) The Classic One is their entry level offering and promises to deliver the benefits of tube and ss, without their respective drawbacks. Could this actually be true? I had to investigate further!

Before I get into the details of how this amp sounds, here's some background on my setup, musical preferences, listening room, etc. That way, you can decide for yourself if our tastes are in sync, and if it's worth checking out such a system.

Setup:
CA 840C > Pathos Classic One MkIII (in place of Primare I30) > ProAc Studio 140
- CDP and amp run balanced via Mogami Gold Studio XLRs
- Speakers are biwired with Chord Odyssey

Music:
Jazz: Trane, Miles, Monk, Mingus, lots of classic Blue Note, hard bop, big band, modal, fusion... the works.
Classic rock/modern rock/blues/soul: Steely Dan, Hendrix, Dylan, Beatles, Tull, James Brown, Booker T, Doors, RHCP, etc.
Electronica/alternative: Massive Attack, Gomez, Prodigy, Leftfield, NuJazz, Talvin Singh, Turin Brakes, etc.
Vocalists: Ella, Tom Waits, Cohen, Suzanne Vega, Peter Gabriel, India Arie, Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, etc.